book review

Review: Winter’s Heart (Wheel of Time #9)

Robert Jordan - Winter's Heart

Rand, with Min, is on the run, and Cadsuane, in Carhien, is trying to figure out where he is headed.

Mazrim Taim, the leader of the Black Tower, is revealed to be a liar. Faile, with her companions, is a prisoner of Sevanna’s Sept.

With Elyas Machera, Berelain, the Prophet, and an “army” of disparate forces, Perrin is moving through country rife with bandits and roving Seanchan.

In Ebou Dar, the Seanchan princess known as Daughter of the Nine Moons arrives. In Tar Valon, the schemers and counter-schemers in Elaida’s White Tower are shaken to the core when the rebels appear suddenly outside the walls.

Winter’s Heart is the ninth book in the Wheel of Time series, a series that I’ve been working through slowly for a couple of years. To be fair, the books tend to be at least 600/700 pages long. This, like some of the other books in the series that I’ve read recently, did feel a little slow at times, but other parts made me really enjoy it. So, the best way to review this book is definitely a list!

The Good

  • There are some pretty awesome female characters in this book, and I love the relationships between them. My personal favourites are Faile, Aviendha and Min, and I really enjoyed reading about the sisterly relationship between Aviendha, Min and Elayne.
  • Perrin and Matt are one of my other favourite things about this series, and it was good to see both of them in the book. This series likes to leave them out a lot, so it was nice seeing them with big roles.
  • LAN! I almost forgot about you. He’s my other favourite because he’s the strong and silent type most of the time, but then he has some really sweet moments with his wife sometimes. Plus he’s very badass.
  • There weren’t too many pov’s for once. I knew who everybody was!
  • The ending was my favourite ending so far in the series. It wasn’t the usual huge battle, and I loved the way the perspectives changed to build tension.

The Bad

  • I HATE the length of the prologues in this book. Seventy pages is not normal for a prologue.
  • Egwene annoys me, and I always get bored in her parts of the book. Sorry, Egwene.
  • The plot in this book wasn’t the fastest moving compared to some of the other books.
  • I’m fed up of the fact that everybody’s thoughts always seem to go back to men being better than women or women being better than men (depending on the character’s gender). It’s really annoying.
  • Also, there should have been more Perrin and Faile in this book instead of having them separated. But that’s just me complaining about the plot because they’re really cute together.

Overall, I thought it was a nice addition to the series and it certainly moved the plot forward quite a bit. It’s just a shame my favourite couple wasn’t in it more!

2 thoughts on “Review: Winter’s Heart (Wheel of Time #9)”

Leave a Reply

