Top Ten Authors That I NEED To Read More Of

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and involves making a lists about a certain topic. And who doesn’t like making lists, right?

Top Ten Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED To Read More

There are so many authors I find myself saying this about. It’s surprising how often it actually happens, so it was pretty hard to cut this list down to size.

Neil Gaiman - Neverwhere

1. Neil Gaiman

I’ve been wanting to read more Neil Gaiman ever since listening to the radio version of Neverwhere, and then reading the book. Stardust and Good Omens are too that I definitely want to pick up soon, especially seeing as Good Omens is going to be a BBC radio drama that airs at Christmas.

Elizabeth Wein - Code Name Verity

2. Elizabeth Wein

Code Name Verity broke my heart so much, so obviously I want to read everything else Elizabeth Wein’s ever written. Rose Under Fire is definitely a book I want to read soon.

Morgan Matson - Since You've Been Gone

3. Morgan Matson

I read Since You’ve Been Gone the other week and fell in love with it. It’s one of my top reads this year, I think. It was so good, and now I really need to read some more Morgan Matson!

Tamora Pierce - Alanna, The First Adventure

4. Tamora Pierce

A few people have told me to read her books, and so far I’ve only managed one. I really enjoyed it, and the only reason I haven’t read more is because her books are IMPOSSIBLE to find in the UK. Honestly, I found a couple in charity shops but otherwise there is nothing. They’re not even as sold as ebooks for my nook!

Leila Sales - This Song Will Save Your Life

5. Leila Sales

This Song Will Save Your Life is one of my other favourite reads this year, and I need to read more Leila Sales. It was a fantastic book, and I’m hoping her other books are just as good!

Jennifer E Smith - The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

6. Jennifer E. Smith

Love at First Sight was such a cute read and I’ve been told many times to read Jennifer E. Smith’s other books. They all look really cute.

Markus Zusak - The Book Thief

7. Markus Zusak

I loved The Book Thief a lot, I’ve read it a few times, and the film was brilliant. All this means I really need to read more by Markus Zusak because I love his writing.

Douglas Hulick - Among Thieves

8. Douglas Hulick

The second book in the Tales of the Kin series was published earlier this year and I really want to read it. The first book was awesome so I’m hoping the second book is just as good.

Gayle Forman - If I Stay

9. Gayle Forman

I read If I Stay over the summer in preparation for the film (which I have not yet seen), and really enjoyed it. I’m planning on reading Where She Went at some point, because I do want to read more about Mia and Adam.

Erin Morgenstern - The Night Circus

10. Erin Morgenstern

I’m kind of cheating with this one, because Erin Morgenstern hasn’t actually written any other books (or at least I don’t think she has). I wish she would though because I loved The Night Circus. It has beautiful writing, and the story was wonderful.

Which authors do you need to read more of?

32 thoughts on “Top Ten Authors That I NEED To Read More Of

    1. That’s one of the books that I really want to read. It looks really good, and I’ve seen good reviews for it. Thanks for the recommendation!

      1. I’d even like a bunch of novellas around more of the tents in the circus- since we all know how popular novellas seem to be becomming now @.@

      2. fingers crossed it happens one day- one of my favourite aspects of that book were when she took a break from the plot and talked briefly about the different tents and what was inside them!

      3. I really liked the second person chapters where she looked at some of the tents – it made me feel like I was really there. Now I’m excited about these novellas even if they’re not happening!

  1. This is simply not ok about Tamora Pierce being so hard to find in the UK. (I get the same issue with authors I loved in the UK not being available here in the USA. The Atlantic Ocean can be a dreadful curse to bookworms.) Which of her books are you most excited to read next? I’m quite tempted to send them to you, because the Alanna series and the Immortals quartet were so integral to my development as a reader.

    1. Well, I’ve literally just discovered that her books are on the book depository, so I plan on slowly buying all of them! It’s a pain that I can’t just buy them from a bookshop though. I’m really looking forward to carrying on with the Alanna series next, although to be honest I really want to read everything she’s written. 🙂

    1. It sounds amazing! Everybody’s reviews make it sound brilliant. It’s definitely a book I plan on reading by Christmas. 🙂

    1. I’m looking forward to reading more Gaiman in the future because Neverwhere was fantastic.
      Erin Morgenstern and Markus Zusak both have beautifully written books, and they’re definitely worth reading.

  2. You have lots of authors listed that I haven’t read yet, but want to! I wish Erin Morgenstern would hurry up and write another book too. I just loved The Night Circus:-)

    1. I felt the same about If I Stay. I enjoyed it a lot, but it didn’t quite live up to all the hype. I’m tempted to buy Where She Went, mainly because I wouldn’t mind having both on my bookshelf. 🙂

    1. I keep meaning to read more of his books but I never get round to it. What I have read so far though definitely makes me want to read more.

  3. I, too, need to read more of Morgan Matson! 😉 I’ve read Second Chance Summer and it was ah-maz-ing!! The Book Thief was… wow. It was just AMAZING, that’s for sure. I can’t say I’ve heard of any of the other authors, except for Elizabeth Wein. Code Name Verity is currently on my shelves, waiting to be read! 😀

    1. I’m half way through Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour so far and it’s really good. And very cute. 🙂 Code Name Verity is amazing, and heart-breaking, and you should definitely read it when you get the chance. 😀

    1. I really enjoyed what I’ve read of both of them so far, so I have to read more. Markus Zusak’s writing is so beautiful!

  4. Yes I agree, you need to read more Neil Gaiman. 😛 I adored Stardust—hope you do too. I’ve tried reading Good Omens 3 times now and really don’t like it but perhaps I’ll try it again before the radio version comes out. 😉

    1. I really do need to read more Neil Gaiman. I keep planning on getting round to it, and then I don’t. Hopefully the fact that there is a radio drama coming out will make me hurry up and read some Gaiman. 🙂

Leave a Reply

