book review

Series Review: The Hundred

I received both these books from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

The Hundred

No one has set foot on Earth in centuries — until now.

Ever since a devastating nuclear war, humanity has lived on spaceships far above Earth’s radioactive surface. Now, one  hundred juvenile delinquents — considered expendable by society  — are being sent on a dangerous mission: to recolonize the planet. It could be their second chance at life…or it could be a suicide mission.

CLARKE was arrested for treason, though she’s haunted by the memory of what she really did. WELLS, the chancellor’s son, came to Earth for the girl he loves — but will she ever forgive him? Reckless BELLAMY fought his way onto the transport pod to protect his sister, the other half of the only pair of siblings in the universe. And GLASS managed to escape back onto the ship, only to find that life there is just as dangerous as she feared it would be on Earth.

Confronted with a savage land and haunted by secrets from their pasts, the hundred must fight to survive. They were never meant to be heroes, but they may be mankind’s last hope.

 I have very mixed thoughts about this series. I went into these books thinking that I knew most of the plot – the tv series is on at the moment in the UK. What I didn’t realise was how different the show was compared to the books. That, of course, is not a bad thing at all and it was nice not knowing what would happen. I’ve got to say, I really enjoyed the story line in these books. What I didn’t like as much were the characters. On the whole, I couldn’t really connect to them and that was my main problem with the series so far.

The Hundred series tells the story of 100 teenage criminals who get to sent to earth to see if it’s possible to live there. The story focuses on Clarke, Wells, Bellamy and Glass, who all have several secrets that they keep to themselves. The story that takes place on the ground is hectic as the 100 try to set up a camp and survive on the ground, while things are just as crazy on the Arc, where oxygen is slowly running out for those who live there. It’s all very tense and exciting.

The plot in this series takes a lot of unexpected twists and turns, especially when the secrets of the main characters are finally revealed. I was really interested in what was going to happen, and the second book certainly didn’t disappoint when it came to the plot. However, one of the things that I felt didn’t work every time were the flashbacks. The characters’ past tends to be told in flashbacks and sometimes they’re introduced naturally and it works really well. The thing is, sometimes they felt a bit forced and didn’t flow with the story. It was fine most of the time though.

As I’ve already mentioned, the characters didn’t impress me as much. There are four pov’s in these books and I found myself getting bored in them sometimes (mainly with Clarke and Wells). I didn’t connect to those two characters as much, although I did find parts of their story interesting and some of their secrets were definitely surprising. I found Bellamy and Glass much more interesting to read about. On Bellamy’s part, that I might be influenced by the fact that I love him in the tv show, but I did find myself really invested in his storyline. Plus I love reading about the relationships between siblings. Glass was just awesome. Her story takes place on the ship and it was so interesting reading about the struggles that happened up there. I really liked the world building when it came to the Arc too.

I wasn’t as big a fan of the world building when the book talked about the past though. I never really understood exactly what caused the Cataclysm – I gathered there was a war and they had to leave earth, but why was there a war? I need to know! It’s possible that I missed this info in the book though, so this could just be me being an idiot.

The 100 is a great start to the series, even if some of the characters are a bit of a let-down, and Day 21 certainly carries on with the intriguing story line. It’s definitely worth the read if you’re a fan of sci-fi books.

3 thoughts on “Series Review: The Hundred”

Leave a Reply

