top ten tuesday

Top Ten Underrated Historical Fiction Authors

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and involves making a lists about a certain topic. And who doesn’t like making lists, right?

Top Ten Seven Underrated Historical Fiction Authors

I love reading some historical fiction, and a lot of the time it seems to make me cry (thank you Code Name Verity and The Book Thief). There are, however, some books and authors that I never see mentioned when it comes to historical fiction, probably because they were released longer ago. So, here’s my list for this week.

Joanna Hickson - The Agincourt Bride

1. Joanna Hickson – The Agincourt Bride and The Tudor Bride

These books are both about Catherine de Valois, and was the grandmother of Henry VII. It’s such a fascinating story, and it’s told through the eyes of her servant. I really enjoyed the books, especially the second one, and I’d definitely recommend them to fans of that sort of time period.

Caroline Lawrence - The Thieves of Ostia

2. Caroline Lawrence – The Roman Mysteries

This was one of my favourite series’ when I was younger and I still love it now. It’s about a group of four friends who solve mysteries in their spare time, but it gets really serious and awesome.

Theresa Breslin - Spy for the Queen of Scots

3. Theresa Breslin – Spy for the Queen of Scots and Prisoner of the Inquisiton

Theresa Breslin’s written quite a few historical fiction books, but these are the only two I’ve read so far. I really liked both of them, especially Spy for the Queen of Scots. They’re definitely worth the read, and I need to read some more of her work.

Julia Golding - The Diamond of Drury Lane

4. Julia Golding – Cat Royal series

I’ve enjoyed pretty much everything I’ve read by Julia Golding, but her historical fiction series is one of my favourites by her. It’s so much fun! The series is full of Cat’s adventures which take her all around the world, and I really recommend them. They are children’s books rather than YA, but are still very good.

Marie-Louise Jensen - The Girl in the Mask

5. Marie-Louise Jensen – The Girl in the MaskThe Lady in the TowerSmuggler’s KissBetween Two Seas

I love reading Marie-Louise Jensen’s books. They transport me to another world so easily. Also, they have the some really nice covers, like The Girl in the Mask. I read most of these a while back but I did really like them.

Eva Ibbotson - The Secret Countess

6. Eva Ibbotson – The Secret Countess, A Company of Swans

Eva Ibbotson writes quite a lot of fantasy but she also has some wonderful historical fiction as well. From what I remember, they tend to be quite focused on the romance but they’re always really nice reads.

Anna Godbersen - The Luxe

7. Anna Godbersen – The LuxeBright Young Things

I LOVE Anna Godbersen’s books. I haven’t read them in a while but they’re brilliant. They really bring the early 1900’s and the roaring twenties, and the characters are so much fun. I’m also in love with these covers because they have some beautiful dresses.

Which underrated books do you love?

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Underrated Historical Fiction Authors”

  1. Theresa Breslin is on my list too! I’ve only recently read one book by her: Remembrance, but it was so well written I am now an instant fan!

    1. I really want to read Remembrance, it looks so good. I definitely recommend her other books. I found Spy for the Queen of Scots so interesting!

      1. She also has written part of the co-authored “War Girls” which I definitely want to read!

        Remembrance was fantastic and just…my heart hurt.

      2. I haven’t heard of War Girls before but it sounds really good. I really want to read Remembrance, but it kind of feels like I’m going to cry a lot in it.

  2. I don’t really read Historical Fiction, but just checked out “The Girl in the Mask” on Goodreads and it looks really good! I also agree with you about the cover for “The Luxe, Bright Young Things”, it’s so pretty! 🙂

    1. It’s been a while since I read The Girl in the Mask, but I really enjoyed the story. I’m in love with the covers for The Luxe – they’re amazing!

    1. Yeah, there’s quite a lot of historical fiction that’s really hard to get into. I liked Spy for the Queen of Scots a lot, although it’s kind of sad knowing how it ends before you even start it.

    1. I read The Luxe a while ago and loved it a lot. I’m going to have to reread it at some point to see if my feelings have changed at all, but it’s definitely a good series.

      I’ve read The Boleyn Inheritance and really enjoyed it, especially The Other Boleyn Girl. It’s a great series! I’m so behind on The Cousins’ War though – I keep seeing the new one everywhere but I need to read the others first.

  3. I don’t read a lot of historical fiction. Of the ones I’ve read recently, most have been novels in verse.

    Have you read any of Sarah Miller’s books? I read The Lost Crown and enjoyed it so much that I’m seriously thinking of reading her first book…

    1. I don’t think I’ve read any historical fiction that’s been in verse. I’ll have to keep an eye out for some books like that.

      No, I haven’t heard of Sarah Miller before, but I just had a look at The Lost Crown on goodreads and it sounds amazing! I’ll definitely be reading that at some point.

Leave a Reply

