Review: Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2)

Veronica Rossi - Through the Ever Night

Aria has struggled to build a life for herself outside Reverie. It hasn’t been easy adjusting to life in the wilderness but that struggle has been worth it with Perry by her side.

But Perry has other challenges. His people are looking to him for answers. Answers about what happened to his nephew and what’s happening to their world. And they don’t trust the priviledged Aria, one of the enemy, in their midst.

Soon he’ll be forced to chose between the tribe that looks to him for leadership and the girl that looks to him for love.

Why do all dystopians insist on splitting up the main couple for most of the book? You know, they’re still a couple but they have to go and do things in different parts of the world and can’t spend time together. I swear, this happens in all of the dystopians I’ve read and it’s so frustrating. And guess what? It happens in this book too and I really wish it hadn’t, because I love Perry and Aria (the main characters) together. When I picked up this book, I’d been looking forward to seeing those two together again for the whole book, but sadly that didn’t happen. I’m not saying I didn’t love this book though, because I really did. I just wish dystopians would stop forcing couples apart.

Anyway, now that my rant is over, what did I actually think of this book? I loved it. It was just as good as the first book, and so much happened in it. I really enjoyed discovering more of the world with both Aria and Perry, and there were a few new characters that I loved getting to know (mainly Reef).

Speaking of, the characters are my favourite thing about this series. Aria, our heroine, is so awesome and I don’t know how so many members of the tribe managed to hate her for so long. She was brilliant, and her and Perry together was even better. Perry himself was great too, but my favourite character has to be Roar. I just like him so much, and his story in this book is heart-breaking. Seriously, it’s horrible. Poor guy. I also finally got to meet Liv in this book (Perry’s sister), and she was just as awesome as expected.

To be honest, I don’t think there was anything that I didn’t like about this book (apart from the whole Perry/Aria not together thing) and I’d definitely recommend the series to fans of dystopians. It’s certainly a good read.

One thought on “Review: Through the Ever Night (Under the Never Sky #2)

Leave a Reply

