Review: The Final Empire (Mistborn #1)

Brandon Sanderson - The Final Empire

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with colour once more?

In Brandon Sanderson’s intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage – Allomancy, a magic of the metals.

This was an incredible book! There is so much to love about it and so much to say about it’s awesomeness. I loved every minute of it and everybody should go and read this book right now. It’s that good.

The Final Empire tells the story of Kells, a sort of exile who leads a gang of criminals, and Vin, a minor member of another criminal gang. They happen to meet and what follows is a small group of people trying to completely change the world that they live in. There’s also magic, dancing and flying across rooftops.

I loved the main characters a lot. Kells is a sweetheart with a sad backstory and you really can’t help but like him. He’s amazing at what he does (namely, magic) and also has great relationships with his friends. Honestly, you’ll wish you were part of his crew when you’re reading this book. Similarly, I don’t think anybody could dislike Vin. Seeing her character develop as she came to trust Kells and his friends was so nice and I really liked the relationship between Vin and Kells. I have to give a special mention to Sazed and Elend as well, because they were my other favourites.

Plot-wise, this book was insane. So much happens and I literally couldn’t read this book fast enough. I always wanted to know more about the plot and the story and what was going to happen. There are some huge twists as well towards the end which I’m still not over. The other thing I really liked as the story went on were the small excerpts from the diary of the Lord Ruler at the beginning of every chapter. They were fascinating.

Finally, I have to mention the incredible magic system. Brandon Sanderson is known for his amazing magic systems, and I think this is my favourite so far. It’s based on swallowing metals and using the powers of those metals to do various things, such as fighting. (And there are some great fight scenes in this book). Honestly, Sanderson puts so much thought into how the magic works and I really enjoyed learning about it with Vin.

This book was awesome. I do wish there had been more women protagonists (there are quite a few men in the crew, and Vin’s the only woman) but hopefully that will change later on the series. I now really need to get on with reading the rest of the books because I need to know what happens. In the meantime, you should all go and get a copy of this book right now!

6 thoughts on “Review: The Final Empire (Mistborn #1)

  1. Yay, you read this! Haha, its really a favourite of mine. The plot twists at the end were totally unexpected for me, this book was such a joy to read. Right now I’m reading Words of Radiance by Sanderson, and he’s really outdone himself in terms of storytelling. There’s lots more female characters in this one too, so I recommend you read his Stormlight Archive series if you like his writing. 🙂

    Anyway, great review! I still haven’t read the rest of the Mistborn series.. better get on that..

    1. I didn’t expect the plot twists at the end at all, and I had to put the book down when I first read them just to take it in! Stormlight Archive is on my wishlist and I plan on reading it sometime, although I want to finish the Mistborn series first. I’m definitely planning on reading all of his books though. 😀

Leave a Reply

