Review: The Moment Collector

Jodi Lynn Anderson - The Moment Collector

A haunting mystery, romance in the vein of The Lovely Bones by New York Times bestselling author.

“The yard of this house is a graveyard of moments and everything left behind is a clue. And I am here to dig.”

There’s a ghost haunting 208 Water Street. She doesn’t know who she was, or why she’s still here. She does know that she is drawn to Maggie, the new girl in town, and her friends – beautiful, carefree Pauline and Liam, the boy who loves her.

But the ghost isn’t all that’s lurking in Gill Creek… Someone is killing young girls all across the county. Can the ghost keep these three friends safe? Or does she have another purpose?

I received a review copy of this book via NetGalley.

Several months, I devoured Jodi Lynn Anderson’s Tiger LilyIt was amazing, and I was really hoping that The Moment Collector would live up to its greatness. Sadly, it didn’t. I did enjoy the book, but it didn’t have the same spark as Tiger Lily.

I think the main thing that stopped me from really loving this book was the fact that I didn’t connect with the characters. They were interesting, but I never felt like I knew them well. The tone of the book was quite distant and so I didn’t get into it as much as I would’ve liked to. Maggie, the main character, was interesting but I wish I knew more about her. To be honest, I wish I knew more about all of the characters.

Although the characters weren’t great, I did like the rest of this book. The tone set is cold and distant and it suits the story of the book, especially with the occasional creepy vibes that come with a story that’s partly about a serial killer. The plot itself twisted a lot and the direction it took did surprise me. The ending wasn’t at all what I expected. The other aspect that kept me reading was the ghost in the basement because I had to know who she was and why she was there. I think that part of the story added a lot to the book.

It wasn’t what I was expecting at all, but I did enjoy this book. If you loved Tiger Lily, you’ll probably enjoy this and it’s definitely worth giving a try.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Moment Collector

Leave a Reply

