Top Ten Tuesday: Most Owned Authors

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and involves making a lists about a certain topic. And who doesn’t like making lists, right?

Top Ten Authors I Own The Most Books From

Originally I was going to use goodreads to do this week’s top ten, but then I realised I have quite a few books that I haven’t added to goodreads. So, I ended up counting each of my books individually to find out who my top ten authors are this week!

10. Maria V. Snyder – 8 Books

I discovered Maria V. Snyder last summer and went on to read as many of her books as possible. I have one book left of her Healer series, which is awesome, and I loved her Study series. I really like her fantasy worlds and the characters that she creates. Especially Valek.

9. Ally Carter – 9 Books

I’ve been reading Ally Carter’s books for a while and I’ve enjoyed every single one. I have all six of her Gallagher Girls series and her three Heist Society books, which are my favourites.

7. Cassandra Clare – 10 Books

I think I started reading Clare’s books when Clockwork Angel first came out and I fell in love with them, especially The Infernal Devices. I own all three of those, and all six of The Mortal Instruments. I’m also counting her Bane Chronicles as one book seeing as I have all of those too as ebooks.

7. Philippa Gregory – 10 Books

Philippa Gregory is joint seventh with Cassandra Clare, and I didn’t actually realise how many of her books I own. Her historical fiction are some of my favourites, especially the newer series The Cousins’ War. It’s really awesome, and I still need to finish watching the tv series that was made.

6. J. K. Rowling – 11 Books

I’m not surprised that J. K. Rowling is on this list. I’ve loved her books ever since I was little. I’ve got all seven Harry Potter books, Fantastic Beats, Beedle the Bard and a copy of the Philosopher’s Stone in Welsh. I also have The Cuckoo’s Calling which I am definitely counting as Rowling. Actually, I have two copies of that, so I kind of own 12 of her books.

5. Caroline Lawrence – 12 Books

I was a huge fan of the Roman Mysteries when I was younger, and they’re still on my bookshelf. They’re a really awesome series set in Roman times following the adventures of four friends. They were so much fun, and I still have both the majority of the books and the audiobooks. I also really enjoyed the tv show that was made, although they only did a few of the books.

4. Rick Riordan – 13 Books

It’s no surprise that Rick Riordan is on my list. I’m a huge fan and I’m eagerly awaiting The Blood of Olympus. I have all five Percy Jacksons, four Heroes of Olympus and three Kane Chronicles books. I also own The Demigod Diaries, which is a fun addition.

3. Robert Jordan – 14 Books

I haven’t finished The Wheel of Time series yet, but I do own 13 of the books plus the prequel. I’m on the ninth book at the moment and enjoying the series. My set is really mismatched though because the majority of my books came from charity shops so they all look very strange next to each other.

2. Robert Muchamore – 15 Books

I forgot how many books I owned by Robert Muchamore until I looked earlier. I have almost all of the Henderson Boys series (six of them) and another nine Cherub books. I was pretty addicted to the books for a while and was trying to read all of them. I have not yet managed that.

1. Agatha Christie – 60 Books

I wasn’t at all surprised to see Agatha Christie at the top of my list. When I was about twelve or thirteen I got addicted to her books and tried to read as many as possible. I went to charity shops, car boot sales etc. to get them as cheaply as possible and I still enjoy rereading them sometimes. There are still a lot I haven’t read so hopefully I’ll get round to reading them some day.

Edit: It seems I forgot to add Roald Dahl to my list, even though I own eight of his books. Just pretend that I added him at the start.

Who are your most owned authors?

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Owned Authors

  1. haha holy moly for agatha christie! My dad has all her books but i’ve only read And Then there were None (so far, ahem)

      1. That’s possibly one of the ones I haven’t actually read. I’ve read a lot more Poirot than Marple, so I really need to get on with reading Miss Marple.

  2. 60 AC? Awesome 😀 I have like 20 of hers now.
    I had a lot of these as ebooks or borrowed books from friends so I didn’t include them but I had a lot of CC as well, 8 books if I counted right before I returned them.
    I still have to read more of Riordan, I loved the two of his I read. 🙂
    Happy reading!

    1. Yeah, Agatha Christie is definitely my most read author.
      Rick Riordan is a great author, and I’d definitely recommend his books. They’re awesome. 😀

    1. I’ve got a couple on my bookshelf that I still haven’t read, so I’m really looking forward to starting those. 🙂

  3. I recently bought the Study series (but I’m missing book one and one other one, so I can’t binge it yet) and I’ve heard good things about it. Cassandra Clare and Phillipa Gregory made my list too (yay for historical fiction!). After watching the Tudors I become obsessed with this era. The White Queen TV series is amazeballs from start to finish. I bought it on DVD from Play.com for around £10. I’m sure JK made most people’s lists today, and Rick Riordan is one I’ve never read, but I’ve always meant to! I haven’t heard of your number 2 or 3, and while I’ve obviously heard of your number 1, I’ve never read anything by Agatha Christie. Looks like I’ve got some authors to check out!

    R x

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/07/29/top-ten-tuesday-most-owned-authors/

    1. I loved the Study series, so I hope you enjoy it. Historical fiction is awesome, especially Philippa Gregory’s! I’ve recorded the whole of The White Queen and I’ve only watched about two episodes so far, so I know what I’m doing this summer.

      Yeah, I think JK is on almost everybody’s list this week, and you should definitely check out Rick Riordan. Agatha Christie’s books are also great!

    1. I love Maria V. Snyder, her books are so good. I was really surprised that I had 60 Agatha Christie books. I knew I had a lot, but not that many!

  4. 60 Books! I can understand though, I’ve been really enjoying her books and want to start collecting them too. 🙂

    1. I really like collecting her books, because they tend to be older copies in charity shops so they all look really pretty. Plus they’re great books! 🙂

  5. Whoa, 60 Agatha Christie’s??? She’s been on my “need-to-read” list for a while, and I finally picked up my first AC book! Looks like it’ll take me a while to catch up to you, though. 🙂 I forgot about Roald Dahl too, and we have at least 10 – 15 of his books lying around my house!

    1. I love Agatha Christie’s books a lot, and I want to reread some soon. I hope you enjoy your first one! Yeah, I can’t believe I forgot to add in Roald Dahl because I really like his books.

    1. I think Rowling made a lot of lists this week. 😀 I was kind of surprised that Snyder ended up on my list because I didn’t realise how many books I actually owned by her.

  6. I’ve definitely read a ton of Agatha Christie, but I tended to borrow her from the library – definitely all the Poirot and not so much the Miss Marple, for whatever reason. I really want to read Rick Riordan, and I had never heard of Ally Carter, Robert Muchamore or Caroline Lawrence – and I have Maria Snyder on my TBR list. It’s kind of fun seeing what everyone else has hoarded (cough) I mean collected over the years. 😉

    1. I borrowed a lot of hers from the library too, so I definitely didn’t expect to own that many. I’ve also read a lot more Poirot than Marple, which I really need to change.

      I love Rick Riordan’s books a lot, and I’d definitely recommend them. They’re a lot of fun. Maria V Snyder is also definitely worth the read. 🙂

    1. I went through a phase of wanting to read all of them so I bought a lot, but I didn’t realise quite how many I had!

  7. +JMJ+

    Oh, Caroline Lawrence! =D I’ve read the first six Roman Mysteries books and have two more to read. I really do want to complete the series. It’s very well written, isn’t it? I’m a little sad that it’s not better known.

    1. I read them a while ago, and am currently rereading them. I love them a lot, and they’re so much fun. I really wish I knew more people who had read them because they’re so good!

Leave a Reply

