book review

Review: The Young World (The Young World Trilogy #1)

Chruz Weitz - The Young World

After a mysterious Sickness wipes out the rest of the population, the young survivors assemble into tightly run tribes. Jefferson, the reluctant leader of the Washington Square tribe, and Donna, the girl he’s secretly in love with, have carved out a precarious existence among the chaos. But when another tribe member discovers a clue that may hold the cure to the Sickness, five teens set out on a life-altering road trip to save humankind.

The tribe exchanges gunfire with enemy gangs, escapes cults and militias, braves the wilds of the subway and Central Park…and discovers truths they could never have imagined.

I received a review copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

There were things I loved about this book, and there were things that really annoyed me. One moment I’d be loving the action and the story, and the next the characters would be annoying me. Basically, I have very mixed feelings about this book but it was a good book overall.

Story-wise, I really enjoyed this book. All the adults mysteriously dying isn’t the most original of plots, but I did really enjoy the way the story was told. It’s pretty much the story of a bunch of kids trying to save the world before they die, whilst being chased by other crazy kids (think Lord of the Flies). The main characters had to go through a lot in the story and plenty happened to keep the story interesting. Plus the action scenes were brilliant. They were definitely a highlight of the book.

The characters, however, were the part of the book I wasn’t so keen on. Although I loved the secondary characters – Peter and Brainbox being my favourites – I wasn’t so keen on Jefferson and Donna, our narrators. Sometimes I really liked them, but there were other time when they really annoyed me. Jeff’s character seemed to change a lot, and he didn’t seem particularly consistent. Then again, I really liked how determined he was to save the world.

Donna, on the other hand, annoyed me quite a bit. Although she made me laugh a lot sometimes, I just found that I hated her chapters. One of the reasons for this was the text speak and the fact that the dialogue in her chapters tended to be written in the form of a script. It really annoyed me. Also, Donna was so judgmental about other people and seemed to hate any girl who appeared in the book. To be fair, she did realise that she was doing that, but then carried on doing it anyway. Yeah, I wasn’t a huge fan of her character.

The one other thing that drove me insane were the amount of references made in this book. There were quite a few that I just didn’t get, and they seemed to pop up all the time. However, this book did have a lot of good points and I did enjoy reading it. The ending definitely left me wanting more, and I’ll be keeping an eye out for the next book in the series.

The Young World will be released on the 29th of July, 2014.

1 thought on “Review: The Young World (The Young World Trilogy #1)”

Leave a Reply

