book review

Review: Touch of Power (Healer #1)

Maria V Snyder - Touch of Power

Laying hands upon the injured and dying, Avry of Kazan assumes their wounds and diseases into herself. But rather than being honoured for her skills, she is hunted. Healers like Avry are accused of spreading the plague that has decimated the Territories, leaving the survivors in a state of chaos.

Stressed and tired from hiding, Avry is abducted by a band of rogues who, shockingly, value her gift above the golden bounty offered for her capture. Their leader, an enigmatic captor-protector with powers of his own, is unequivocal in his demands: Avry must heal a plague-stricken prince, the leader of a campaign against her people.

As they traverse the daunting Nine Mountains, beset by mercenaries and magical dangers, Avry must decide who is worth healing and what is worth dying for.

I am a big fan of Maria V. Snyder, especially her Study trilogy. I was slightly hesitant about starting this book because I’d been a bit disappointed by her Glass trilogy, but this book was definitely worth picking up. I loved it! The characters were awesome, the world was really interesting, and the story was so much fun with plenty of twists.

Seriously, I really enjoyed the story. Although I did think there was a bit too much traveling and sleeping in caves, the story did have a very interesting plot. I really liked the way the world was worked into the story, especially the plot line involving the peace and death lilies. The world itself was well built and the magical aspect was really interesting. I’m a huge fan of Snyder’s magic systems.

There are a lot of characters in this book, and I really liked the majority of them. Avry, the heroine of the story, was awesome. The fact that she was a healer but was also ready to fight was really interesting. She was ready to do everything herself and I loved her strength. On the other hand, I was not a fan of the ‘enigmatic captor-protector’. I really disliked Kerrick from the start of the book and he only sort of redeemed himself towards the end. I don’t know, I just didn’t like him.

I did love several other characters though – Belen was brilliant, and I really liked Flea and Ryne. I wish there had been more of Estrid too. Overall, this book had great characters and a great story, and I’m really looking forward to continuing with the series.

5 thoughts on “Review: Touch of Power (Healer #1)”

Leave a Reply

