book review

Review: Code Name Verity (Code Name Verity #1)

Elizabeth Wein - Code Name Verity

Oct. 11th, 1943-A British spy plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France. Its pilot and passenger are best friends. One of the girls has a chance at survival. The other has lost the game before it’s barely begun.

When “Verity” is arrested by the Gestapo, she’s sure she doesn’t stand a chance. As a secret agent captured in enemy territory, she’s living a spy’s worst nightmare. Her Nazi interrogators give her a simple choice: reveal her mission or face a grisly execution.

As she intricately weaves her confession, Verity uncovers her past, how she became friends with the pilot Maddie, and why she left Maddie in the wrecked fuselage of their plane. On each new scrap of paper, Verity battles for her life, confronting her views on courage, failure and her desperate hope to make it home. But will trading her secrets be enough to save her from the enemy? 

A Michael L. Printz Award Honor book that was called “a fiendishly-plotted mind game of a novel” in The New York Times, Code Name Verity is a visceral read of danger, resolve, and survival that shows just how far true friends will go to save each other.

How do I explain my feelings for this book? I’ve been putting off writing this review because I still have a book hangover from reading it and I have no idea what to say about it. It’s such an amazing book with one of the best friendships I have ever read about and I am totally in love with it.

The book tells the story of Verity, a British spy captured by the Gestapo, and Maddie, her best friend back home. Slowly, we’re told the story of their friendship and how it came to be. Their story is one of the most moving things I have ever read about and I couldn’t get enough of it. Both of the characters were so different and awesome and brave and wonderful, and they were perfect for each other. Their friendship made me laugh and it made me cry, and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about them. Yes, lots of things happen in this book but to me, it was all about their friendship.

The plot of the story kept me hooked throughout. I don’t want to spoil anything so I won’t say much but Part 2 drove me crazy because I wanted to know what was going on and if everybody was alright. I couldn’t read it fast enough. There were other great characters in the book too, and the one that stands out the most to me is Jamie. All I’m going to say was that I loved him and he was a sweetheart.

If you do plan on reading this (which you should, because it’s amazing) I definitely recommend the audio book. It really brings the characters and the story to life, and I think it added a lot to the book. But even if you can’t get the audio book, just read it. It has the most amazing story.

5 thoughts on “Review: Code Name Verity (Code Name Verity #1)”

  1. I’ve heard quite a lot about Code Name Verity, especially during Armchair BEA. I’ve only tried one audio book (and failed) but if I ever get to picking it up again, this will definitely be the one I try!

    1. I took me a little to get into the audio book, but once I was into it I couldn’t stop listening at all. I’d definitely recommend trying it again.

Leave a Reply

