Review: Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)

Maggie Stiefvater - Shiver

When a local boy is killed by wolves, Grace’s small town becomes a place of fear and suspicion. But Grace can’t help being fascinated by the pack, and by one yellow-eyed wolf in particular. There’s something about him – something almost human. Then she meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away…

A chilling love story that will have you hooked from the very first page.

My expectations for this book were very high, and Shiver didn’t quite live up to them. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed it, but I was a little disappointed. This was probably due to my love for The Raven Cycle because it is awesome, and this wasn’t as good. However, I did enjoy it and it isn’t a bad book.

I really liked the world and the mythology of the werewolves in this book. The temperature effects whether they’re a human or a wolf, which I thought was really cool, and the general werewolf thing was fun. However, the actual pacing and story of the book felt rather slow. It took me a while to get through the book because of this, and it definitely made me enjoy the book less.

Character-wise, I liked both Grace and Sam as individuals. Grace was a lot of fun and she was a really interesting character to discover, and Sam was a sweetheart. My problem with them was their relationship. In all honesty, I found it all very creepy and weird to start with because for ten(?) years they’ve been watching each other – one as a human and the other wolf. Suddenly, when Sam’s human, they fall in love and talk about how they’ve always loved each other. I just didn’t get it. I’ll admit,  I did get used to them by the end and liked their relationship more.

I also really liked the ending of the book – it was very tidy, with some questions set up for the next book. Overall, it was alright and I’m considering reading the next book in the series seeing as I have it already.

Have you read Shiver? What did you think?

6 thoughts on “Review: Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)

  1. I’ve read this series and really enjoyed it. Luckily there was no hype at all for me going into it and I was pleasantly surprised. I’ve heard a lot of people say if you’ve read the Raven Cycle first though you’ll appreciate this less as her writing gets better, which basically means I’m excited to read TRC seeing as I really enjoyed this. It’s a decent read and I’m looking forward to Sinner.

    1. I definitely prefer The Raven Cycle, and I think I would’ve enjoyed Shiver more if I’d read it before. I’m probably going to carry on with the series though, because Sinner sounds really good.

  2. I really enjoyed this series. But there was no hype for me either, as this was The first Stiefvater book I read and I have yet to read the a raven acycle. I quickly devoured the trilogy and gave recommended it to friends who don’t typically read YA. I’m excited to read Sinner.

    1. Yeah, I really wish I’d read the book when it first came out. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series though, and Sinner does look really good!

Leave a Reply

