Top Ten Tuesday: Classics

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and involves making a lists about a certain topic. And who doesn’t like making lists, right?

This week, I’m splitting my list into classics that I want to read, and classics that I have read.

Top Five Classics I Have Read

Jane Austen - Sense & Sensibility

1. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

This is my first, and so far only, Jane Austen book and I really enjoyed it. I loved the relationship between the sisters.

Arthur Conan Doyle - Sherlock Holmes

2. The Complete Stories of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I’m half way through this edition of the Sherlock Holmes stories, and I really like it. They’re all so clever, and a lot of fun too.

Elizabeth Gaskell - North and South

3. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

After watching the brilliant BBC adaptation of this (I recommend it to all), I had to read the book. Margaret is an awesome character, and I loved her and Thornton together.

J R R Tolkien - The Fellowship of the Ring

4. The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien

I’ve read the whole trilogy, and I had to include them because they are such a fantasy classic. It may have taken me a long time to get through the book, but I really enjoyed them.

Agatha Christie - The Mysterious Affair at Styles

5. The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie

A few years ago, I fell in love with Agatha Christie’s book, and my favourites have to be the Hercule Poirot stories. The Mysterious Affair at Styles is his first story, but I love so many of them. They’re all brilliant!

Top Five Classics I Want to Read

Jane Austen - Pride and Prejudice

1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

My plan is to read this next month, because Andie at thebookheap is hosting a read-along. I’m so excited about starting it!

Jane Austen - Emma

2. Emma by Jane Austen

I’ve already seen the BBC version of this and I really loved it, so I can’t wait to read this at some point.

Charles Dickens - Oliver Twist

3. Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

This has been on my bookshelf for years and I really need to read it at some point.

Charles Dickens - A Tale of Two Cities

4. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

It looks really good, and everybody seems to like it.

Charlotte Bronte - Jane Eyre

5. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

It’s another classic that everybody seems to have read and liked, so I’ll definitely be reading this in the near future.

Which classics have you loved? And which ones are you planning on reading?

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Classics

    1. Richard Armitage was the reason I watched it to start with and he was awesome. Definitely the perfect Thornton!

  1. Oh North and South, I loved that book so much! It’s got a fair few differences from the bbc drama version! (Thornton is a sweetheart from like chapter 2 haha!)

    Yeeees the p&p re-read will be amazing! If it’s successful I may decide to do a Jane Eyre one later in the year (because I luff me some jane eyre!)

    1. I really want to rewatch North and South now that I’ve read the book, just so that I can spot the differences. I think the ending was a bit different, wasn’t it? And yeah, Thornton was really sweet in the book.

      I can’t wait to read P&P, and a Jane Eyre read-along would be fun too!

    1. I keep putting off reading it so this read-along is definitely going to make sure I read it. You should definitely check it out!

  2. Shamefully, I haven’t read many classics at all. >-< Although I've read Oliver Twist AND Great Expectations! Wooohooo! lol x) I tried Jane Eyre, but it's really traumatic. Seriously, it's just child abuse what they do. Oh, and Alice in Wonderland, I LOVE that one. I think I'd love to try some Sherlock Holmes! I do like mysteries and he's so famous. 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by @ Notebook Sisters!

    1. I think the ones on my list are pretty much all I have read. I keep meaning to read Alice in Wonderland but I haven’t and I know I should!

      Sherlock Holmes is awesome – you should definitely read it. 🙂

    1. It does look pretty big! I’ve had it for ages and I just keep putting off reading it.

  3. Jane Eyre is such a great read! Absolutely adore it! A Tale of Two Cities and bascially all of Jane Austen’s works is on my TBR. I’m hoping to read my first Agatha Christie this summer. I’ll probably start with And Then There Were None. Great list! 🙂

    1. And Then There Were None is a great one to start with. It’s definitely one that I want to reread soon. I really need to read Charles Dickens and Jane Austen seeing as they’re so popular.

  4. I’ve heard so much about North and South (and especially about the BBC version). A Tale of Two Cities is one of my favorite books, but I do need to read more Dickens.

    1. Both the book and the BBC version of North and South are amazing! I feel terrible that I haven’t read any Dickens yet, but I’m excited about starting it.

  5. I’m so excited you mentioned North and South in your post because it’s one of my favorite classics, too! Of course I also watched the BBC adaption and you’re so right….it’s AWESOME!

    1. I saw the BBC version first and loved it so much (that was partly down to Richard Armitage!) The book was awesome too, and I feel like rereading it soon.

      1. Agreed! I always remember that one scene where Margaret is watching him standing in the factory hall, overlooking the factory workers..and I was like ‘heck, yes, that’s the perfect Thornton!!’

    1. Everytime I go to another blog’s top ten, I keep finding more classics that I really need to read. And LOTR is definitely one of the best fantasy novels.

Leave a Reply

