Thoughts On: The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault in Our Stars

On Tuesday, I finally got to see The Fault in Our Stars. To be fair, it was only released in the UK just over a week ago and I had to finish my exams before seeing it. Anyway, I loved it. A lot. It was such a good film! I do, however, feel a bit heartless after watching it because I didn’t cry at all. Not once. I feel terrible! My friends were all sobbing from Amsterdam onwards and I was just sitting there dry-eyed. I was genuinely surprised that I didn’t shed a tear because I cried buckets in the book, and I was all prepared in the cinema with two packets of tissues. But yeah, no tears.

Anyway, I loved this film because the actors were perfect. Shailene Woodley was brilliant as Hazel, and I loved the relationship between her and Ansel Elgort’s Gus. They were both perfect for the roles and I think that they were great choices for Hazel and Gus. I’ve got to admit though, Nat Wolff as Isaac was my favourite character. I loved every scene which had him in it and I thought his acting was amazing.

As a book-to-film adaptation goes, this one was really good. Although I wasn’t a huge fan of the Anne Frank house kiss (which I wasn’t keen on in the book anyway), I thought that the book really came to life and the writers did a great job of sticking to the book. Also, I couldn’t get enough of the scenery shots of Amsterdam – they were so beautiful!

Basically, this film is definitely worth seeing if you haven’t been to see it already, and make sure you take tissues. You’ll probably need them.

4 thoughts on “Thoughts On: The Fault in Our Stars

  1. I finished reading the book a couple weeks ago and really liked it. Pretty much everything I’ve heard about the film is positive, so I’m glad you really enjoyed it! I didn’t cry during reading the book, lol, but the story itself is a great one. 🙂

    1. It is a great story, and the film is definitely worth seeing! I cried so much both times that I read the book, but no tears in the film. 😀

Leave a Reply

