Review: Unbreakable (The Legion #1)

Kamie Garcia - Unbreakable

Kennedy Waters didn’t believe in ghosts, until one tried to kill her.

When Kennedy finds her mother dead, her world begins to unravel. She doesn’t know that evil forces in a much darker world are the ones pulling the strings. Not until identical twins Jared and Lukas Lockhart break into her house and destroy a dangerous spirit sent to kill her. The brothers reveal that her mother was part of an ancient secret society responsible for protecting the world from a vengeful demon – a society whose five members were all murdered on the same night.

Now Kennedy has to take her mother’s place in the Legion if she wants to uncover the truth and stay alive. Along with new Legion members Priest and Alara, the teens race to find the only weapon that might be able to destroy the demon – battling the deadly spirits he controls every step of the way.

Suspense, romance, and the paranormal meet in this chilling urban fantasy, the first book in a new series from Kami Garcia, bestselling co-author of the Beautiful Creatures novels.

This review will contain gifs.

I’m a huge fan of the Beautiful Creatures books, so I was really excited about reading Unbreakable. And I really enjoyed it, although that might be because I’m a huge fan of Supernatural, which this book is very similar to. It’s pretty much Supernatural with different characters and plot and stuff. This, by the way, is not a bad thing, but I did find myself comparing to the tv show every so often.

After the death of Kennedy’s mother, Kennedy has no idea what to do with herself. Well, until a hot pair of twins (Lukas and Jared) kill a ghost that was in her room. She goes off with them and then they (and some other awesome people) spend their time killing more ghosts and spirits. Trust me, it’s a lot of fun. It basically feels like the first couple of series’ of Supernatural because it’s quite light-hearted (well, until the end) and I just really enjoyed it. Also, there’s a great twist at the end of the book which I really liked.

My feelings are slightly more mixed with the characters – I loved some, and got annoyed with others. Kennedy, our main character, was great. Her reactions to the crazy world around her were very believable, and she does some pretty awesome stuff in the book. Although I liked Kennedy, my favourite characters were Alara and Priest. Alara was just awesome and I don’t know how to describe how much I loved her. Priest was also amazing. He was the mechanic of the group who casually made awesome things out of everyday items.

awesome-dean

The characters I wasn’t as keen on were twins Lukas and Jared, who I guess make up a sort of love triangle with Kennedy. They just annoyed me sometimes, even though there were times when I did like them. My problem was that I didn’t care at all about their relationship with Kennedy. It wasn’t really instalove, but more of an awkward relationship without much development (especially Jared and Kennedy).

confused-sam

However, if we just pretend that the whole romance thing didn’t exist, I loved this book. It was a lot of fun, and I really enjoyed it. I’d definitely recommend it to all fans of paranormal and supernatural books.

One thought on “Review: Unbreakable (The Legion #1)

Leave a Reply

