Review: Poison (Tales from the Kingdoms #1)

Sarah Pinborough - Poison

A beautiful, sexy, contemporary retelling of the classic Snow White fairy tale, illustrated by Les Edwards.

Poison is a beautifully illustrated retelling of the Snow White story which takes all the elements of the classic fairy tale that we love (the handsome prince, the jealous queen, the beautiful girl and, of course, the poisoning) and puts a modern spin on the characters, their motives and their desires. It’s fun, contemporary, sexy, and perfect for fans of Once Upon a Time,GrimmSnow White and the Huntsman and more.

I have very mixed feelings about this book. On the one hand, I thought the story was great and it was a very easy read. On the other hand, I wasn’t so keen on the characters. Sometimes I liked them, sometimes I didn’t – there were a lot of ups and downs in this book. Anyway, I’ll get to that point soon.

Firstly, the plot. I thought this book had a great plot which had a nice twist on the original fairy tale (although there were a few similarities to the tv show Once Upon a Time). There was pretty good pacing in this book, and I loved the way other fairytales were worked into this book, such as Aladdin and Hansel and Gretel. However, before you go thinking this is a typical YA book, there is a sex scene very early on. This is definitely an adult book, even though it did feel as if it was aimed towards a younger audience from time to time.

Like I mentioned, I wasn’t quite so keen on the characters. Although I loved Lilith, the evil queen (who was awesome), none of the other characters appealed to me at all. Snow White, of course, is meant to be the main character, but I couldn’t connect with her at all. For one thing, I didn’t get what her opinions were on anything – for a lot of the book, she was totally against getting married to a stranger, but then she was happy to say yes to a prince that she barely knew. She also felt very young for a twenty year old. On the other hand, I did like Snow White sometimes. See? Very mixed feelings.

On the whole, I enjoyed this book and got through it very quickly. It did have a nice twist on the fairy tale, and my copy had some really nice illustrations in it. So, I did like the book, but it did have its problems.

One thought on “Review: Poison (Tales from the Kingdoms #1)

Leave a Reply

