book review

Review: Smart

Kim Slater - Smart

I found Jean’s friend dead in the river. His name was Colin Kirk. He was a homeless man, but he still wanted to live. 

There’s been a murder, but the police don’t care. It was only a homeless old man after all.

Kieran cares. He’s made a promise, and when you say something out loud, that means you’re going to do it, for real. He’s going to find out what really happened. To Colin. And to his grandma, who just stopped coming round one day. It’s a good job Kieran’s a master of observation, and knows all the detective tricks of the trade.

But being a detective is difficult when you’re Kieran Woods. When you’re amazing at drawing but terrible at fitting in. And when there are dangerous secrets everywhere, not just outside, but under your own roof.

I received a review copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I’ve been putting off reviewing this book for a bit, because I honestly have no idea how to express my feelings for it. I have no idea how to review it. I apologise in advance if this review makes no sense.

Kieran is a young boy who has some sort of mental illness (a lot of reviewers believe that he is autistic). I loved Kieran’s character – he felt so realistic, and I really enjoyed reading this book from his PoV. He was so honest about everything, and he actually made me want to cry sometimes because of the way he talked about everything so matter-of-factly. A lot of issues are touched upon in this book, such as abuse, and it was interesting to see them from Kieran’s point of view. However, I do wish that they explored more.

The main plot of the book is about Colin, a dead, homeless man that the police don’t really care about. I reallly liked the fact that Kieran decided that he had to solve the mystery, and I was definitely drawn into the story. It had great pacing, and I also felt that it was very well written. There were other parts I loved in the book too, such as Kieran’s friendship with Karwana.

The other thing I wanted to mention was my love for the cover art, and how it tied into the story. It’s such a perfect cover for this book. Overall, I really enjoyed this book, and I’d recommend it to pretty much anybody.

3 thoughts on “Review: Smart”

Leave a Reply

