Review: The Cuckoo’s Calling (Cormoran Strike #1)

Robert Galbraith - The Cuckoo's Calling

A brilliant debut mystery in a classic vein: Detective Cormoran Strike investigates a supermodel’s suicide.

After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one client, and creditors are calling. He has also just broken up with his longtime girlfriend and is living in his office.

Then John Bristow walks through his door with an amazing story: His sister, the legendary supermodel Lula Landry, known to her friends as the Cuckoo, famously fell to her death a few months earlier. The police ruled it a suicide, but John refuses to believe that. The case plunges Strike into the world of multimillionaire beauties, rock-star boyfriends, and desperate designers, and it introduces him to every variety of pleasure, enticement, seduction, and delusion known to man.

You may think you know detectives, but you’ve never met one quite like Strike. You may think you know about the wealthy and famous, but you’ve never seen them under an investigation like this.

Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is the acclaimed first crime novel by J.K. Rowling, writing under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith.

I love mystery books, so I’m glad that I finally managed to get round to reading this one. To be honest, I wasn’t really sure what to expect from it. I had no idea if I’d love this book as much as I loved Harry Potter, but I did really enjoy it. The mystery/crime aspect of this book was great and I had no idea who the culprit was. Also, I really liked the characters and their stories in this book.

The actual plot of the book was good, and it always kept me guessing. The mystery itself was very interesting and gripping, and I kept getting more and more drawn into the book. However, not only did this book have an intriguing crime at its centre, it also had some great side plots/stories about the characters. I cared about Strike’s personal life and his relationship with Robin, and I was rooting for Robin to stay working as a secretary. I thought that the whole plot of this book was interesting, not just the mystery itself.

Speaking of the characters, I really loved Strike and Robin. Cormoran Strike is a really well developed character whose story was really interesting, and I want to learn more about him (although even after reading the book, I’m finding it hard to refer to him as Cormoran!) Robin, his secretary, was also a lot of fun, and I loved her enthusiastic-ness for the whole private detective thing.

The other thing that I liked about this book was that it was so easy to visualise. It felt so real and it was easy to imagine the London that the characters lived in. Overall, I really enjoyed it and I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

7 thoughts on “Review: The Cuckoo’s Calling (Cormoran Strike #1)

  1. That’s fun! I love worlds that are easy to visualize. Some descriptions are hard to understand and then the characters will use the setting for something and I’m like “What exactly are you supposed to be doing?”

    1. I had the same feeling. I wasn’t sure if I wanted them to get together at the start, but I really loved their relationship by the end of the book.

Leave a Reply

