Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Favourite Reads

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, and involves making a lists about a certain topic. And who doesn’t like making lists, right?

Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

When I first saw this week’s topic, I thought it would be pretty easy to choose my favourite reads so far this year, but then I went and checked exactly what I had read this year. Suddenly my list got a lot harder to write because I have too many favourites! I managed to write it though, so here are my top ten books of 2014 so far.

Leigh Bardugo - Shadow and Bone

10. Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1) by Leigh Bardugo

I read Shadow and Bone back in February and I fell in love with the world and characters that Leigh Bardugo had created.

George R R Martin - A Dance with Dragons

9. A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire #5) by George R. R. Martin

I finally caught up with the most recent novel and couldn’t get enough of it. I can’t wait for the next book to be released!

Brandon Sanderson - Steelheart

8. Steelheart (Reckoners #1) by Brandon Sanderson

Superheroes! Well, sort of. This book was awesome though. I loved it!

Cassandra Clare - City of Heavenly Fire

7. City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6) by Cassandra Clare

It was a great final book in the series, although the ending was a little disappointing. I still really enjoyed the book though.

Sarah J Maas - The Assassin's Blade

6. The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass #0.1-#0.5) by Sarah J. Maas

Getting to know more about Celaena’s backstory was awesome, and I loved Sam so much! (And possibly more than Chaol or Dorian).

Marissa Meyer - Cinder

5. Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer

I picked this up because of all the hype, and really enjoyed it. The story and the world were brilliant.

Stephanie Perkins - Anna and the French Kiss

4. Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1) by Stephanie Perkins

It was so cute and adorable! I loved Etienne and Anna.

Marissa Meyer - Cress

3. Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

I had to put another Marissa Meyer book on here, because Cress was awesome! It was definitely the best book in the series so far.

Leila Sales - This Song Will Save Your Life

2. This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

I read this in an afternoon because I loved it so much. Honestly, it was awesome. Go and read it!

Laini Taylor - Dreams of Gods and Monsters

1. Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #3) by Laini Taylor

It was so just perfect. An amazing end to the series.

Which books have been your favourites this year?

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Favourite Reads

  1. Sam broke my heart. *sniffles* I only read that a few weeks ago, but oh gosh…I didn’t htink I could love anyone more than Chaol and then in waltzes Sam. AND HIS DEATH WAS SO CRUEL. *wails* Okay! Okay! I’ll calm down. I ALSO loved Cinder and Anna and the French Kiss and This Song and Shadow & Bone. So much awesome of this list. I absolutely approve of your tastes, lol. 😉

    1. I was pretty much in tears in The Assassin’s Blade – I didn’t think I’d fall so in love with Sam. Thank you! 😀

  2. Love, love, love your list! A big yes to a Dance With Dragons, Cinder and CoHf which are the only ones I’ve read but most of the others are sitting on my TBR pile waiting to be read. Definitely need to read Anna & the French Kiss soon as well as Shadow & Bone 🙂

    1. I’d definitely recommend Shadow & Bone – it’s awesome! And Anna & the French Kiss is really adorable. 🙂

    1. This Song Will Save Your Life is amazing! You should definitely read it. And yeah, Steelheart is about supervillains and sort of superheroes – it’s brilliant. 🙂

  3. Great picks. I read This Song last year and absolutely LOVED it, it was one of my top reads last year. I started the Lunar Chronicles this year and really loved them, have yet to read Cress yet but I am excited for it as I keep hearing it’s the best of the series so far. I’m hoping to start the Throne of Glass series soon, have heard great things.

    1. This Song was amazing, and I had to put it on my list. Cress is my favourite in the series so far, so I hope you love it!

Leave a Reply

