book review

Review: Among Thieves (Tales of the Kin #1)

Douglas Hulick - Among Thieves

There is no honour among thieves . . .

Ildrecca is a dangerous city, if you don’t know what you’re doing. It takes a canny hand and a wary eye to run these streets and survive. Fortunately, Drothe has both. He has been a member of the Kin for years, rubbing elbows with thieves and murderers from the dirtiest of alleys to the finest of neighbourhoods. Working for a crime lord, he finds and takes care of trouble inside his boss’s organization – while smuggling relics on the side.

But when his boss orders Drothe to track down whoever is leaning on his organization’s people, he stumbles upon a much bigger mystery. There’s a book, a relic any number of deadly people seem to be looking for – a book that just might bring down emperors and shatter the criminal underworld.

A book now conveniently in Drothe’s hands . . .

I read this book for the first time a couple of years ago and I really enjoyed it. The second book in the series, Sworn in Steel, was released recently, which meant that I had to reread this because I honestly couldn’t remember a lot of the story or how it had finished. So, second time round, this book wasn’t quite as awesome as I remembered it, but I still really liked it. The characters are all interesting and different, and the world is amazing. Personally though, the story is my favourite thing about this book. It’s intense!

What I love about this book is the fact that it is based in a criminal underworld. I haven’t read anything else like this in fantasy before – usually there’s a quest and a chosen one, and maybe some dragons (although I do love dragons). Here, it’s darker and grittier, and the plot is much more mysterious. The main character, Drothe, doesn’t really know what’s going on in his world and it’s fascinating reading about him discovering the truth. This book has a story which I did feel started off a bit slow, but by the end is really gripping.

My feelings about the characters are a little more mixed. As I said, they’re all very interesting and they do have great back stories. The problem I had was that I couldn’t connect to Drothe that much. I loved reading about him, but I don’t know. I never really connected with him, although his character did grow on me a bit by the end. On the other hand, I loved some of the secondary characters! Degan, Drothe’s best friend, added plenty of humour to the book and Christiana, Drothe’s sister, was just brilliant. I really liked her.

There were a lot of things that I liked in this book, and although I wasn’t drawn to Drothe’s character, I did enjoy the book. I’d definitely recommend it to fantasy fans who are looking for something a bit different to the usual quests.

5 thoughts on “Review: Among Thieves (Tales of the Kin #1)”

  1. Great review, I think I had the same issues with connecting with Drothe in this first book like you did, but mostly because of the big twist in the first person narrative that was the turning point of the novel. The second book didn’t have the same issues though, I liked it even more!

    1. I’m so excited about reading the second book, although I’m not sure when I’ll be able too. It looks so good though!

  2. This sounds amazing! I think I remember one of my friends raving about this too…a long time ago? I like criminal underworld fantasy kind of books, though, I confess, I often get lost. >.< (Especially with the crazy names.) It's a pity Drothe is hard to connect with though. 😐

    1. I think it’s quite easy to follow, although some of the terms the books uses gets kind of confusing. I’d definitely recommend it though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

