Review: City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6)

Cassandra Clare - City of Heavenly Fire

Lives will be lost, love sacrificed, and the whole world changed in the sixth and last instalment of the internationally bestselling The Mortal Instruments series.

Erchomai, Sebastian had said. I am coming.

Darkness returns to the Shadowhunter world. As their society falls apart around them, Clary, Jace, Simon and their friends must band together to fight the greatest evil the Nephilim have ever faced: Clary’s own brother. Nothing in this world can defeat him – must they journey to another world to find the chance?

I was so excited about reading this book and I’m glad to say, I did enjoy it. It had a great story, wonderful characters and a good ending. However, it wasn’t as awesome as I was expecting it to be. I think my expectations were far too high going into this book, but I did enjoy it a lot.

There were plenty of good things about the book – I loved the story and the amount of action that was going on. Things kept happening all the time and I did find it hard to put it down at times. It had a great pace and although there were a lot of different character point of views, it didn’t get confusing at all. There were times when I wanted to skip some characters so that I could read about my favourites, but I did enjoy the story on the whole.

One of the things I love in the series is the relationships between the characters. My favourite couple has always been Simon and Isabelle, and I loved seeing their relationship develop in this book. I really fell in love with them in this book. Clary and Jace were also great characters, as were Luke and Jocelyn (who I also adore)! But my favourite character in this particular book was Alec. His sass was amazing and I felt like I got to know him a lot better in this book. I have to mention Jem and Tessa as well, because it was nice seeing them again.

Finally, as I’ve already mentioned, I wasn’t quite satisfied with the book and that’s mainly because of the ending. It was a good ending, but it wasn’t what I was expecting. I was expecting a lot more from it, and so it didn’t have the same emotional impact on me as Clockwork Princess did. Overall though, I did really enjoy the book and I’d definitely recommend it!

Also, it had the cutest comic strip at the end!

Quick warning: there may be spoilers in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Review: City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6)

  1. I had the exact same reaction. It was good but my expectations were way higher coming from her. I was a little disappointed because nobody died or even came close to death. The Simon thing was a little weird and I don’t think I liked that. I also wish there was more Clary/Jace scenes. It just wasn’t what I was expecting.

    1. That was exactly my problem with the book! I was expecting a lot more death, and I would’ve been a lot happier if Simon hadn’t started getting his memories back because I wanted something to be sacrificed.

Leave a Reply

