Review: Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #3)

Laini Taylor - Dreams of Gods and Monsters

By way of a staggering deception, Karou has taken control of the chimaera rebellion and is intent on steering its course away from dead-end vengeance. The future rests on her, if there can even be a future for the chimaera in war-ravaged Eretz.

Common enemy, common cause.

When Jael’s brutal seraph army trespasses into the human world, the unthinkable becomes essential, and Karou and Akiva must ally their enemy armies against the threat. It is a twisted version of their long-ago dream, and they begin to hope that it might forge a way forward for their people.

And, perhaps, for themselves. Toward a new way of living, and maybe even love.

But there are bigger threats than Jael in the offing. A vicious queen is hunting Akiva, and, in the skies of Eretz … something is happening. Massive stains are spreading like bruises from horizon to horizon; the great winged stormhunters are gathering as if summoned, ceaselessly circling, and a deep sense of wrong pervades the world.

What power can bruise the sky?

From the streets of Rome to the caves of the Kirin and beyond, humans, chimaera and seraphim will fight, strive, love, and die in an epic theater that transcends good and evil, right and wrong, friend and enemy. 

At the very barriers of space and time, what do gods and monsters dream of? And does anything else matter?

I find it so hard to review the books in this series because I love them so much, but I will try. There are so many reasons why I love this series, and one of the big reasons is the writing. To be honest, I’m pretty much in love with everything about the books, but the writing in it was so special that I just had to mention it. Laini Taylor has a way of really bringing all the fantastical things in her books to life, and the way she writes feels totally magical and mysterious. The writing is just so beautiful, and it’s really hard to tell you how perfect it is.

Another thing I loved about this book were the characters. There are so many of them but I never saw that as a problem because I still felt like I knew all the main characters. I know other reviewers felt that there were too many character perspectives, but I thought that it really showed the epic scale of the book and its setting. Our main character Karou was just as awesome as ever. She’s such a strong lead and I liked seeing her really getting into the action. I did get annoyed with the awkwardness between her and Akiva because it went on for too long, but otherwise I loved her. Akiva was also a strong, well written character and I really enjoyed getting to know more about his ancestry and his power.

If you’ve read my reviews for the first two books in the series, you’ll know that my favourite characters by a long way are Zuzana and Mik, and that hasn’t changed at all since reading the last book. They were as cute and adorable as ever, and definitely helped to bring a bit of light-heartedness to the book. Zuzana made me laugh so much, but I liked that we also got to see other sides to her character, such as when she was affected by the war that was going on. Also, Mik is such an awesome character and I’m not sure how anybody would’ve managed to do anything without him.

The other character I have to mention is Eliza, who’s new in Dreams of Gods and Monsters. She’s got the most incredible back story, and I’ll just say that I really enjoyed getting to know her.

Finally, this book had a really gripping story and some great settings. I would definitely recommend that you all read the series because I really don’t want to accidentally spoil anything about the story in this review. What I will say is that I couldn’t put it down at all – seriously, I took this book everywhere with me.

2 thoughts on “Review: Dreams of Gods and Monsters (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #3)

Leave a Reply

