book review

Review: Renegade (The Renegade Series #1)

L A Wilcox - Renegade

There are just three rules to being a time traveler. 

1. Do not, under any circumstance, interfere with your environment during travel. 
2. Do not attempt to carry other persons or large articles during travel. 
3. Keep your talisman on your person at all times. 

When time traveler Andrew Simmons loses his talisman in pre-revolutionary Boston, he must race against the clock to retrieve his only way home. Everything is on the line – family, love, freedom, honor, and quite possibly the future. But as time reveals a long line of dark secrets, Andrew realizes he must save more than just his skin. He must also save his kind.

I received this book for review from the author in exchange for an honest review.

I love time travel, and I’m always looking for more books about time travel because there don’t seem to be that many around. So when the author contacted me to ask me to review the book, I had to say yes, and I’m so glad that I did! It was a fun, short adventure about time travel and I really like the way time travel was explained in the book. It was so easy to follow compared to some other books, and there were some interesting twists to it too, such as time travelers needing a talisman.

Another thing I liked about this book was the actual story. It was so good! There was a great twist in there and I honestly found it hard to put down this book sometimes. I’ll admit, I did think that the ending was very sudden because it sort of felt like the book ended in the middle scene. However, it has made me want to read the next book because I want to know what happens.

One thing that I think could’ve been better was the dialogue. It felt a bit forced at the beginning of the book, although it did improve whilst the main character, Andrew, was in the past. The way the dialogue was written seemed to suit the past much better. Andrew himself was an interesting character who I got to like more as I read the book. If I’m honest, I wasn’t a big fan of him at the start because he annoyed me a bit, but I did like him more by the end of the book. On the other hand, I was a fan of Elizabeth and her determination to get things done.

Although I didn’t understand half the references in this book (mainly because I’m Welsh), I did really enjoy it and I’d definitely recommend it to fans of time travel.

5 thoughts on “Review: Renegade (The Renegade Series #1)”

  1. I got a copy of this book from the author too. It’s next on my books to read. This review helped a lot though!

    1. It’ll be interesting to see what you think of it – I really liked the time travel aspect of it.

Leave a Reply

