tales of the mabinogi

Tales of the Mabinogi

Tales of the Mabinogi

Recently, I realised that I don’t seem to post anything on Friday’s very often and so I decided that I should start some of feature. And this is what I came up with:- Tales of the Mabinogi.

I’ve been wanting to research more into Welsh mythology for a while and I figured doing this would be the perfect opportunity. For those of you who aren’t quite sure what the Mabinogi is, it’s a collection of eleven stories about the heroic age or mythological past of Britain. The stories were put together in the early ninteenth century, but are based on older material which may or may not be based on actual history.

The Mabinogi tends to describe all eleven stories in the collection, but there are four main tales, known as the four branches. I’m going to be looking at each of the eleven stories on Friday’s, along with some other bits of Welsh mythology such as Cantre’r Gwaelod and Bedd Gelert.

Welsh mythology is totally crazy but definitely worth finding out more about, so if you want to know more, come check out Tales of the Mabinogi!

6 thoughts on “Tales of the Mabinogi”

  1. Ahhhh brilliant!! I’m well excited for this because I want to learn about more mythology and I’ve never really heard of any Welsh myths

    I’ll be sure to spotlight this on my “Friday’s Fairytales” next week since it’s of a similar cause! : D

    1. Thank you! I’ve been wanting to look into Welsh mythology more for a while, so I figured I may as well tell other people about it as well. πŸ™‚

    1. Yeah, Welsh mythology isn’t all that well known anywhere so I’m looking forward to researching it a bit more! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

