Book Notes: The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass #0.1-#0.5)

Book Notes

There are some books which are just really hard to review for whatever reason – whether it’s because they’re novellas, or are ridiculously long, or there just isn’t much to say – and so I decided that I needed a different way of looking at them. This is Book Notes, which is sort of a review, but shorter.

Sarah J Maas - The Assassin's Blade

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.

Ever since reading Throne of Glass, I’ve been wanting to read these novellas and I finally got a chance when they were released as a book – The Assassin’s Blade. This collection of stories about Celaena Sardothien was so much fun to read and I’d definitely recommend them to fans of the series.

Firstly, Celaena is a great character who develops a lot of the five novellas. To be honest, I wasn’t a huge fan of hers at first but I started to like her more and more as I learnt more about her character. Plus, she’s an assassin, and they’re always fun to read about! I also loved Sam, her friend/lover, who was so adorable and he was a fun, happy contrast to Celaena’s sulky character.

Secondly, although the stories are all short, they’re interesting and plenty happens. My personal favourite was The Assassin and the Underworld, mainly because Celaena and Sam did a lot of assassin-y type things and it was nice to see them actually doing their “job”. The overall story arc was interesting and clever, and it made a nice prequel to the actual series. I did hate the ending of the final novella, but I knew what was coming from reading the actual book so I wasn’t too surprised.

Basically, if you’ve read (or you’re considering reading) the Throne of Glass books, I’d definitely recommend these novellas. They’re a lot of fun, and they’re just as good as the actual books.

3 thoughts on “Book Notes: The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass #0.1-#0.5)

  1. I’ve not read the actual novellas yet but I do love that they’ve started releasing novellas for series in book form.

    1. The series is really good, so I’d definitely recommend it. The novellas definitely add a lot of background development to the series as well.

Leave a Reply

