Review: Obernewtyn (The Obernewtyn Chronicles #1)

Isobelle Carmody - Obernewtyn

In a world struggling back from the brink of apocalypse, life is harsh. And for Elspeth Gordie, it is also dangerous. That’s because Elspeth has a secret: she is a Misfit, born with mysterious mental abilities that she must keep hidden under threat of death. And her worries only multiply when she is exiled to the mountain compound known as Obernewtyn, where—for all her talents—Elspeth may finally and truly be out of her depth. Then she learns she’s not the only one concealing secrets at Obernewtyn.

I have mixed feelings about this book. Sometimes I loved it and sometimes I was a bit bored of reading it. In general though, it was a fun read that was easy to follow, and I did enjoy it.

The main character in this book is Elspeth, a “misfit” who has special powers. I enjoyed learning about the powers that she had, such as mind reading, and seeing her learn how to use them and how powerful she actually was. I rather liked her as a character as well, although sometimes she could be quite nasty. There were quite a few times in the book where I didn’t like her very much.

The secondary characters, on the other hand, were great. I loved Matthew and Dameon from the start, and the strong friendship that they had. It was written well and they were a very believable pair of characters. The rest of the characters in this book were also a lot of fun and very different from each other. I did feel that there could’ve been more character development for them, because I wish that I knew more about each of the characters by the end of the book.

The actual writing did feel a bit disjointed at times and the dialogue sometimes felt forced, but on the whole it didn’t bother me too much. I actually thought that the book was a lot more creepy and strange than I was expecting. A lot of weird stuff was going on at Obernewtyn and it was a nice surprise to read about all of that in the book. Also, by the end, the pace really picked up and I really liked the plot twist.

The world was also pretty cool, although I did want to know more about it. It sort of felt like it was similar to our world but all technology had stopped working after the ‘apocalypse’ and people had to cope with these changes. It added another interesting element to the book. Over all, I did enjoy the book and although there were some things that could have been better, it was a fun and quick read.

2 thoughts on “Review: Obernewtyn (The Obernewtyn Chronicles #1)

Leave a Reply

