book review

Review: Dangerous Dream (Dangerous Creatures #0.5)

Garcia and Stohl - Dangerous Dreams

Catch up with Ethan, Lena, and Link as they finally graduate from high school and get ready to leave the small Southern town of Gatlin. But when Dark Caster Ridley makes an appearance, the sometime bad girl can’t resist picking a fight with her sometime boyfriend, Link. Angry and rebellious as ever, Ridley ends up alone in New York City and becomes entangled in the dangerous underground Caster club scene, where the stakes are high and losers pay the ultimate price.

Where’s a Linkubus when you need him?

I received a review copy of this book via NetGalley.

I loved the Beautiful Creatures series so much, so when I found out that a new series was being written about Link and Ridley, I was rather excited. Having now read this e-novella, I’m not sure if I’ll be picking that series up. Don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy reading the novella, but I’m not sure if I care about Ridley and Link enough to read a whole series about them.

I’ve got to admit, I loved being back in the world of Ethan and Lena in this book. It was so nice seeing old characters again, and just finding out what happened in Gatlin after the events of Beautiful Redemption. What I didn’t like as much were Ridley and Link’s chapters. In The Caster Chronicles, I’d enjoyed reading about those two from the point of view of Ethan, but when it came to reading from their point of view, I didn’t like it as much.

However, the actual story (or opening to the new series) was good and it was interesting to see more of the Dark Casters in their world. I might continue with the series, but I would recommend it if you were fans of Ridley and Link in the original series.

2 thoughts on “Review: Dangerous Dream (Dangerous Creatures #0.5)”

Leave a Reply

