Review: The Scorpio Races

Maggie Stiefvater - The Scorio Races

Every year, the Scorpio Races are run on the beaches of Skarmouth. Every year, the sea washes blood from the sand. To race the savage water horses can mean death, but the danger is irresistible.

When Puck enters the races to save her family, she is drawn to the mysterious Sean, the only person on the island capable of taming the beasts.

Even if they stay together, can they stay alive?

A breathtaking ride that will make your heart race.

I thought I knew what I was getting into when I started reading this book. I figured it would be a good story about a couple of young people who get to know each other as they train for the races. And I definitely got that, but there was one thing that did surprise me. This book was full of man-eating horses! It was a brilliant surprise, because I didn’t manage to figure it out from the savage water horses in the synopsis.

Anyway, there was so much that I loved about this book. The plot was so interesting and exciting, and the final scenes with the races were amazing. I couldn’t put it down for a moment by the time I reached the races and the scene at the very end of the book was so perfect. There was no other way that it could’ve ended that would’ve made me happier.

I did like the characters in this book too. Puck is a great heroine who will do anything for her family and, although she is a bit crazy, she’s ready to go against all the traditions of the island so that can do her own thing. I really enjoyed her chapters, and her interactions with her brothers were very believable because they were also interesting characters, especially Finn. I liked Sean too, and I couldn’t get enough of his relationship with Corr, his horse. They trusted each other so much, and even though Corr was one of the water horses, he clearly wouldn’t hurt Sean. It was such a nice relationship to read about.

Finally, I am so in love with UK cover of this book. It’s so pretty! And it definitely captures what this book is all about. I really enjoyed The Scorpio Races, and the mythological side to it really caught my interest. I’d definitely recommend it to fans of young adult paranormal/mythology books.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Scorpio Races

    1. It was really good, and I was already looking forward to it because I’d read some of Maggie Stiefvater’s other books.

  1. I read this book about a year ago and absolutely loved it. The concept, the characters, the writing. It was a wonderful book to read and I’m glad to see you enjoyed it as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

