Book Notes: Out of the Silent Planet

Book Notes

Every so often, I come across a book that I have no idea how to review and I get really stuck. After thinking for a while about what to do, I thought I could just share my thoughts on the book with you. So, this is Book Notes, which is a way for me to recommend books without having to write a whole review!

C S Lewis - Out of the Silent Planet

Out of the Silent Planet introduces Dr. Ransom and chronicles his abduction by a megalomaniacal physicist and his accomplice via space ship to the planet Malacandra. The two men are in need of a human sacrifice and Dr. Ransom would seem to fit the bill. Dr. Ransom escapes upon landing, though, and goes on the run, a stranger in a land that, like Jonathan Swift’s Lilliput, is enchanting in its difference from Earth and instructive in its similarity.

I’ve been a fan of The Chronicles of Narnia since I was little, so when I found out that C. S. Lewis had written a sci-fi trilogy I had to read the first book. And I’m so glad I did, because I really enjoyed it. But why should you read it?

Well, firstly, it’s sci-fi. I don’t read that much sci-fi but this has so much awesome-ness in it. The planet they visit, Malacandra (Mars to us), is described so vividly and it’s so crazily different to our world. Seriously, the descriptions are amazing and it was just like rediscovering Narnia, only different.

Secondly, it has some great characters. Ransom, the main character, is such an ordinary person and is definitely not prepared for what’s about to happen to him. But he adapts and I loved exploring this new world through his eyes. There’s also a diverse mix of side characters, such as the crazy scientists, the hross (which were a sort of big, furry, otter-like creature) and the sorn, which I sort of imagined to look like this, only a bit bigger:

merlinarthur'sbane

It is a bit harder to get through because it’s an older book, but it’s a great read and a great story. I would definitely recommend it to fans of sci-fi and C. S. Lewis.

5 thoughts on “Book Notes: Out of the Silent Planet

  1. I think I own this….or at least my mum owns it…but I’ve never even checked it out! I SHOULD. I loved Narnia as a kid! I had the dramatised audio cds and gosh did I wear those things out. I’d start them again as soon as I finished the 7 books. CS Lewis is a really genius writer, eh?!

  2. What a great idea as a replacement-review. A lot of the times when I’m about to write a review, I enter this brief state of panic where I realize I’m not sure what to say about the book. But then I start writing and it just naturally flows…sometimes it ends up 1,000 words long! xD

    1. That seems to happen to me quite a lot too, although I’m not sure I’ve ever written a review quite that long. 🙂

Leave a Reply

