Review: Sisters Red (Fairytale Retellings #1)

Jackson Pearce - Sisters Red

Scarlett March lives to hunt the Fenris–the werewolves that took her eye when she was defending her sister Rosie from a brutal attack. Armed with a razor-sharp hatchet and blood-red cloak, Scarlett is an expert at luring and slaying the wolves. She’s determined to protect other young girls from a grisly death, and her raging heart will not rest until every single wolf is dead.

Rosie March once felt her bond with her sister was unbreakable. Owing Scarlett her life, Rosie hunts ferociously alongside her. But even as more girls’ bodies pile up in the city and the Fenris seem to be gaining power, Rosie dreams of a life beyond the wolves. She finds herself drawn to Silas, a young woodsman who is deadly with an ax and Scarlett’s only friend–but does loving him mean betraying her sister and all that they’ve worked for?

I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this book when I got it from the library, but I quickly fell in love. I’ve always been a huge fan of fairytale retellings so this retelling of Little Red Riding Hood was right up my street. It’s full of werewolves and hunters and a lot of fights, and it’s a lot of fun.

This book has such a great story. I loved the plot twists that the book threw at me, although I did guess one before it happened. However, I couldn’t put it down by the end because the plot kept getting so exciting, and the action never stopped. Seriously, there are a lot of fight scenes in this book and they definitely kept the book interesting.

The main thing I loved about this book was the characters. It focused completely on Scarlett, Rosie and Silas, with chapters from the point of view of both Scarlett and Rosie. I fell in love with all three of the characters as I got to know them, especially Rosie. Her story really made me feel for her as she struggled between wanting to leave her life as a hunter but not wanting to abandon her sister. She constantly felt torn between how she should live her life, and I enjoyed reading about those problems while she wasn’t fighting werewolves.

Similarly, Scarlett was also a great character. Her life was focused on hunting and she could never imagine leaving it behind because of what had happened to her in the past. Scarlett was such a strong character who was ready to do anything for the people she loved, but she was also obsessed with getting revenge and sometimes felt that she had to be really protective of Rosie. Her relationship with her sister was also really interesting, and it felt so realistic in the book.

The other main relationship is the one between Silas and Rosie, who can’t keep away from each other. Although I did feel like there was some insta-love going on, I did like reading about the two of them together and I really enjoyed the fact that they had to hide their relationship from Scarlett.

Overall I enjoyed this book so much. There was some awesome mythology about werewolves, and there was a great plot. Plus, that cover is totally amazing! I’d definitely recommend the book to all fans of fairytale retellings and mythology.

8 thoughts on “Review: Sisters Red (Fairytale Retellings #1)

  1. I really enjoyed this book too! Make sure you check out the others in the series because they all tie into each other (i’ve only read the first two so far)

    1. I really want to carry on with the series when I get a chance, so I’m keeping an eye out for the second book.

  2. I didn’t enjoy this book as much as you did. How many times is little red riding good going to be called Scarlett?

    1. It’s a shame that you didn’t like it that much. I definitely agree with you about the name Scarlett – it would be so nice to see different names used for Red Riding Hood!

      1. The other books in this series seemed cool though. They weren’t the usual fairy tales we see redone. I might still read them!

      2. They do look worth checking out, and hopefully I’ll find the next book soon to see what it’s like.

Leave a Reply

