Review: Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1)

Veronica Rossi - Under the Never Sky

WORLDS KEPT THEM APART.

DESTINY BROUGHT THEM TOGETHER.

Aria has lived her whole life in the protected dome of Reverie. Her entire world confined to its spaces, she’s never thought to dream of what lies beyond its doors. So when her mother goes missing, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland long enough to find her are slim.

Then Aria meets an outsider named Perry. He’s searching for someone too. He’s also wild – a savage – but might be her best hope at staying alive.

If they can survive, they are each other’s best hope for finding answers.

I didn’t know much about Under the Never Sky before I started reading it, apart from the fact that a lot of people enjoyed it. I didn’t have particularly high expectations either, so I was pleasantly surprised after finishing this book. It had so much in it that I loved, and I found it pretty hard to put it down by the end.

Although I thought it had a pretty slow start, I soon got into the plot of this book. It was exciting, with plenty going on all the time. I found that once the book got started, it went at quite a nice pace and there was never too much going on at one time. It had plenty of twists and turns, and most of them were very unexpected. They really did make me want to keep reading.

Another thing that got me really interested in this book was the world and its details. There was so much to learn about the place, and I loved the details that were mentioned. There were so many differences between the domes and the outside, and I liked the way the characters had to cope with those differences. Also, the idea of the “never sky” was interesting, and I loved the fact that the Outsiders had pretty much mutated to survive in the outside world. Things like that in the book just made it so much more realistic to me. The one thing I did want to know more about was the history of the characters’ world, but I’m hoping I’ll be seeing more of that in the next books.

The characters, however, didn’t make quite as much of an impact on me. Although I really liked Perry, I didn’t feel so much of a connection to Aria. Her character never really appealed to me, and I found that I wasn’t as interested in her PoV. The story is told through both Aria and Perry’s perspective, but I didn’t enjoy Aria’s chapters as much as Perry. She was an interesting character who was well rounded and developed a lot through out the book, but there was no connection. Perry, on the other hand, was a character that I really did enjoy reading about. The way he acted around other people, especially Aria, was interesting and very believable for his personality. I also liked the fact that he was ready to do anything for his nephew, even if it meant ignoring his own needs. I just really loved his character.

The romance in this book wasn’t over-powering either, so it was nice seeing it as side-element to the plot. The one other thing I wanted to mention was how great Roar’s character was, and I really hope I see more of him in the next book. Overall, I really enjoyed Under the Never Sky and I can’t wait to start the next book.

5 thoughts on “Review: Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky #1)

    1. Your review was actually what finally made me read it after trying to decide whether or not to start the series, so thank you!

  1. I have this on my TBR right now…and I’m kind of avoiding reviews until I read it. Except I just read yours! XD Woot! I loved your review. It sounds sooo good, though I’m a little worried I won’t care about Aria. But, it seems like such a famous series, I just can’t wait to start it!

    1. I think that it’s just me who didn’t care that much for Aria, to be honest. I hope you read it soon though, because it is a really good book!

Leave a Reply

