Review: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3)

Marissa Meyer - Cress

Rapunzel’s tower is a satellite. She can’t let down her hair—or her guard. 

In this third book in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army. 

Their best hope lies with Cress, who has been trapped on a satellite since childhood with only her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker—unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice. 

When a daring rescue goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing stop her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only ones who can.

This book was fantastic. It was a great addition to the series, and I loved every moment of it. There was always so much going on, and there were so many characters to fall in love with. My only problem was the amount of frustration I felt as I was reading it because of the events in the book. Still, it was really good and has definitely made me want to read Winter when it’s released.

As I’ve said in previous reviews for this series, one of my favourite things about it is the wide range of characters. New characters are introduced in every book and they’re always so interesting. The newest addition to the series in this book was Cress, the main character. She’s a technology-genius Lunar who lives in a satellite, and works for Sybill and Levana. Cress is probably my favourite of the three heroines in this series, because she is such an adorable character! The way she acts and behaves is very realistic for a character who has pretty much no connection with the outside world, and I love the way she gets really excited about new things. Also, I liked the way she tried to cope with things that she hasn’t experienced before by pretending to be someone else.

The other character who got a lot of attention this time round was Thorne, who is probably my favourite character in the series. He was so cute around Cress in this book, and we got to see a more sensitive side to him. I’ll admit, he does remind a lot of Flynn Rider/Eugene Fitzherbert from Tangled, which may account a little bit for why I love him so much. Anyway, I liked the fact that we did get to see a lot more of his character.

I’m also a fan of the world building in the book, because it’s just so interesting and different, but also sort of believable. It’s so easy to picture the settings that the characters find themselves in, and I like the way small details are just thrown in without paying too much attention to them. For example, the fact that Canada is part of the UK made me smile.

The other thing I wanted to mention was the way the fairytale is woven into the story. It’s done so subtly and cleverly, and I liked the little references that were made to the original story. Overall, I really loved this book and it’s definitely my favourite in the series.

One thought on “Review: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3)

Leave a Reply

