top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday – Favourite Fantasy Books

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Top Ten Favourite Books in the Fantasy Genre

Fantasy is easily my favourite book genre, so it was really hard to cut this list down to only ten. I managed though, so here are my top ten favourite fantasy books:

J K Rowling - Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

This is one of my favourite fantasy series’ of all time, and it was the series that really got me into reading fantasy. Plus I love revisiting the world when I reread the books.

J R R Tolkien - The Hobbit

 2. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

Again, this is another fantasy book that I’ve read and reread, and I really love the story and the characters.

Julia Golding - Dragonfly

 3. Dragonfly by Julia Golding

This one is a childhood favourite of mine that I reread every so often. It’s not the best book, but it’s so much fun and it has such a great story.

Poison Study

 4. Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

I read this last summer and absolutely loved it. Yelena has got to be one of my favourite heroines.

George R R Martin - A Game of Thrones

 5. A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

I love this series, and there was no way I couldn’t put it on this list.

Sarah J Maas - Throne of Glass

 6. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

One of my other favourite heroines is Celaena because she is awesome, and I fell in love with this series because of her.

Brandon Sanderson - Elantris

 7. Elantris by Brandon Sanderson

I’ve only recently discovered Sanderson’s work, but I love his books so much, especially Elantris. It’s so good, and I couldn’t put it down at all!

Rachel Hartman - Seraphina

 8. Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

Dragons! They’re the best fantasy creatures, and this book has such an interesting take on them.

Kristin Cashore - Graceling

 9. Graceling by Kristin Cashore

The Graceling Realm series is a great series, and there are so many amazing characters in the books. Especially Katsa and Po.

Laini Taylor - Daughter of Smoke and Bone

 10. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

The writing in this series is just amazing, as are the characters. Also, this book has made me want to go to Prague so much.

That’s my top ten this week, but what’s on your list?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Favourite Fantasy Books”

  1. Daughter of Smoke & Bone belongs to one of those series that makes me anxious to read the next book as soon as I finish the most recent one. I wish I hadn’t found it until it was over–it’d be easier on me.

  2. I found another person who has read Dragonfly! Huzzah! I love fantasy too and read a lot of it as a kid–Surprisingly, I’ve only read about half your list. Daughter of Bone and Smoke looks interesting though…I’ll check it out!

Leave a Reply

