book review

Review: White Crow

Marcus Sedgwick - White CrowSome secrets are better left buried; some secrets are so frightening they might make angels weep and the devil crow. Thought provoking as well as intensely scary, “White Crow” unfolds in three voices. There’s Rebecca, who has come to a small, seaside village to spend the summer, and there’s Ferelith, who offers to show Rebecca the secrets of the town…but at a price. Finally, there’s a priest whose descent into darkness illuminates the girls’ frightening story. “White Crow” is as beautifully written as it is horrifically gripping.

I’ve read quite a few of Marcus Sedgwick’s books and I’ve liked all of them, so I was expecting to enjoy this one as well. However, it took me a while to get through it and, although there was some creepy-ness, I just didn’t like it as much I though I would.Β White CrowΒ tells the story of Rebecca, who’s just moved to a small village for the summer. The place only has three roads and it’s getting smaller all the time. She meets the creepy Ferelith who lives in the area, and together they discover a gruesome event from the past. At the same time, the story of a monk who was involved in said gruesome event is told through his diary.

To start, I’ve always loved Sedgwick’s writing style and this book is no different. His writing was probably one of my favourite things about the book. The story is told through three different perspectives, and each has a unique voice. There are diary entries, and present tense chapters in both first person and third person, which I really liked. It made it easy to see what was going on when, and sometimes made this book seem extra creepy.

Another factor that added creepy-ness to this book was Ferelith. She was a very mysterious character whose intentions were never quite clear, and I really liked reading about her. Rebecca wasn’t as interesting as Ferelith, and it was only towards the end that I really started to enjoy her parts of the story. The monk’s story was perhaps one of the best parts of the book because you could never quite tell what he was up to, and it was all very strange and interesting, and the character himself was really strange. He was a great character though.

I think the main let down for me in this book was the actual plot. I though it was quite slow at the start, and nothing much tended to happen. There were a few events but otherwise I was a little bored of Rebecca and Ferelith’s story. However, it did suddenly get interesting towards the end and the actual ending was a big surprise. Having said that, I wish there’d been more tension and excitement through out the rest of the book.

Overall, it was an alright read which had an interesting ending, but it definitely won’t be reread at any point in the future.

1 thought on “Review: White Crow”

Leave a Reply

