book review

Review: Attachments

Rainbow Rowell - Attachments

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . “

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?

I loved Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. And then I read Fangirl, which I loved even more. So, I decided that I had to read Attachments because it sounded great. And it was, but I just didn’t fall in love with quite the way I did with the other two books. However, I’m not saying that this is a bad book. It’s actually a really good book which is really sweet and funny and one that I enjoyed a lot. I just don’t think it suited me as much as the other two did.

Although I say I didn’t like it as much, I’m not really sure why I didn’t. It’s possible that the tone wasn’t the same, or maybe it’s just the fact that adult romance books just aren’t so much for me. There was something about it which kept me from falling totally in love with this book. On the other hand, there were plenty of things that I did really like and there’s plenty to enjoy in Attachments.

It was really nice reading about an ordinary guy. Lincoln is such a typical, everyday person who lives at home and likes playing Dungeons & Dragons, but also enjoys going out with his friends to concerts. He’s well-rounded and interesting, and I enjoyed getting to know him in his PoV chapters. I love all of Rainbow Rowell’s characters, and Lincoln is definitely easy to love. Similarly, I really liked Beth and Jennifer. Although we never meet them properly, we do read the e-mails between them and it’s obvious why Lincoln falls in love by discovering a person through e-mail. Beth and Jennifer were both really fun to read about, and their e-mails always made me laugh. They just seemed like down to earth people who had everyday problems and I could easily connect with them.

I have to say though, this book could be so frustrating sometimes, but in a good way. I kept wanting to shout at the characters to do things about how they feel and it just annoyed me that they didn’t get up and go for what they wanted. On the other hand, the book had a nice pace to it and so nothing happened unexpectedly, so to be honest I’m not sure if I would’ve liked the book so much if the characters had gotten on with the romance side of things.

Overall, it was a fun, light-hearted read that I’ll probably read again, and I’d definitely recommend it to fans of Rainbow Rowell and adult fiction.

EDIT: I was reading through this review, and I actually realised that I enjoyed Attachments a lot more than Eleanor & Park. Ignore what I said at the start. Attachments is far better and cuter and funnier.

1 thought on “Review: Attachments”

Leave a Reply

