book review

Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss #2)

Stephanie Perkins - Lola and the Boy Next Door

Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

To start with, I don’t know how to review this book. I’m far too in love with it and so it is impossible to write about it. This is the sort of book that you just can’t put down at all. It’s the sort of book that will keep you up all night reading. It’s the sort of book that you wish your life was like.Β It’s funny and sweet and heart-breaking, and I fell completely in love with it.

It tells the story of Lola and her life after her old next door neighbours move back in. She has a complicated past with them or, more specifically, with Cricket. They had a bit of a thing in the past and it’s sort of hard for Lola to get over it, and then there’s the whole problem of her having a boyfriend (who I did quite like at the start).

Lola herself is such a great character with a lot of depth. I loved her enthusiasm for designing and sewing clothes and the fact that she knew exactly what she wanted to do with her life. She was also a very realistic character who did make bad choices sometimes and do the wrong thing, but she was also ready to accept the mistakes that she’d made.

I was also very much in love with Cricket after reading this book. He is one of the most adorable characters I’ve ever read about. His talent with inventing things was so cool, and he seemed like such a nice guy in the book. He was always being really cute and polite, and had the best ideas. I’m not surprised that Lola fell for this guy. He’s really sweet and he’s the sort of guy that I personally would go for and I just really loved him.

The relationship between these two brilliant characters was so interesting, and I loved reading about it. It went up and down, and there was plenty going in it to keep me reading. Plus, they both had their own problems to deal with whilst trying to figure out what was going on between them and I really liked reading about it.

Another thing that got me excited in this book was the fact that Anna and Etienne pop up a lot. They were just as cute as ever, and I loved the scenes where they were working in the cinema with Lola. It was nice having familiar characters in the book and seeing what they were doing now that they’d left Paris. The other character that I loved was Lindsey. She was just so fun and geeky and reminded me a lot of my friends and she’s probably the character I liked most in the book. She was great.

One of my favourite parts of the book were the amount of adorable scenes in it. So many parts made me smile whilst I was reading it, and this book just made me so happy. The thing I did miss from Anna and the French Kiss were all the beautiful descriptions of the setting, although I did really like some of the descriptions that of the area that Lola lived in.

Overall, this is one of the cutest books I’ve read in a while. Well, at least since I read Anna and the French Kiss. I’d definitely recommend Lola and the Boy Next Door to anybody who wants a fun, light-hearted read which is full of cuteness.

1 thought on “Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss #2)”

Leave a Reply

