Review: The Colour of Magic (Discworld #1)

Terry Pratchett - The Colour of Magic

 

On a world supported on the back of a giant turtle (sex unknown), a gleeful, explosive, wickedly eccentric expedition sets out. There’s an avaricious buy inept wizard, a naive tourist whose luggage moves on hundreds of dear little legs, dragons who only exist if you believe in them, and of course THE EDGE of the planet…

I’ve read quite a few of the Discworld books but I’ve never managed to read all of them, and so this year I’m going to start reading them right from the beginning. And having read The Colour of Magic, I’m so glad that I’ve decided to do this. This is one of the craziest and most insane fantasy books I’ve ever read and it was amazing. I’m now really excited about reading The Light Fantastic when I get a copy of it.

Likes

Worldbuilding. Right from the beginning, it’s amazing. There’s so much of it, and you discover so much of the world in just this book.

Ankh-Morpork. The first city visited in this book is possibly my favourite. So much of it is explored in the first story and I really liked all the details about the guilds and the various locations Rincewind and Twoflower visited.

Characters. Rincewind is one of the best characters I’ve ever seen. He’s really interesting and fun and crazy, and Twoflower is also a great character. He’s really refreshing for a fantasy book and it was great reading about him.

Death. By that, I don’t mean dying. I mean the actual character of Death who just pops up now and again to see if Rincewind is going to die. He’s probably the best character I’ve read about in a while. He was just really fun and all of his scenes made me laugh.

Magic. The whole eighth colour of magic was great and the way it was used in the book to create all sorts of things, including dragons! What I really want to see now is a wizard who can actually do magic well.

Humor. The amount of times I laughed during this book was ridiculous. There is so much comedy and fun in it, and I just couldn’t stop laughing sometimes.

Dislikes

Jumps through time. At the beginning of the book, it goes back and forth through time to explain what’s happened. This was a bit confusing to start with and I was a little lost while reading the book. There’s also a bit of jumping between characters which also confused me a bit.

No chapters. This really annoyed me. The book was split into four stories and a couple of prologues and that was it. There were no good places to stop whilst reading and it did get a bit annoying eventually. However, it didn’t ruin my enjoyment of the story and it was just a small point.

I really enjoyed this book and am looking forward to reading the next books in the series. It’s a lot of fun and I would definitely recommend the books to anyone who’s a fan of fantasy.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Colour of Magic (Discworld #1)

  1. I love all of Pratchett’s work, but this one definitely isn’t my favorite – I think probably The Truth and Going Postal are – but Death is absolutely my favorite Pratchett character. Rincewind also features heavily in The Last Continent, if you’ve read that, and I think that one is a lot better in terms of structure and plot.

Leave a Reply

