top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday – Reading Wishlist

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Eight Things On My Reading Wishlist

I had a hard time coming up with things for this list because there aren’t particular characters that I want to see in books, or certain topics that I want to see discussed. So, eventually, I decided on a list of particular things that I’d like to see more of.

1. Steampunk. I just really like steampunk, so anything with a steampunk setting would make me happy. Especially if it’s fantasy.

2. Dragons. I know there are plenty of books that actually do have dragons in, but there can never be too many. What I really want to read about though is dragons in our world and how that would work.

3. Pirates. Again, I know there are books with pirates in, but there should be more. We need more sword fights and sailing on the high seas and buried treasure.

4. Assassins/Time Travel. I am a huge fan of assassin books. I’m also a huge fan of time travel books. Clearly, the only thing to do is to have a book with both. Why have I not read a book like this yet?

5. Stone Age. I just think it would be really interesting to have a YA series set way back in the past.

6. Aztecs. Those guys were cool. Why aren’t there many books based on them? They had awesome traditions and cool mythology and lots of deaths – it would make a great setting for a book series.

These ones are a little more personal, but I figured I’d include them.

7. Better Welsh books. As a Welsh speaker who enjoys reading, I can tell you that there are barely any good Welsh YA books. I’m not sure they really exist as a thing. So it would be awesome if someone started writing some. Or at least if someone translated some English books into Welsh? Also, there should be more Welsh fantasy. I’ve only read one, and it was awesome.

8. Welsh mythology. Following on from the Welsh thing, more books should use Welsh or Celtic mythology as a base. There are plenty with Greek and Roman, and some with Norse and Egyptian, but there aren’t many that are based on Welsh and Celtic mythology. I mean, Welsh mythology has loads of awesome stories and stuff, and it has gods and princes and dragons and Merlin. It would make a great book!

So, that’s my reading wishlist. What do you want to see more of in books?

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Reading Wishlist”

  1. I’d love to read some fiction/fact surrounding Welsh mythology- I’ve never read any of it! And I can’t actually think of any book set in Wales! It’s such a shame because it’s a bloody beautiful country!

    1. There’s a lot of great stuff in Welsh mythology, plus it’s all so crazy so it would make for a great book series!

    1. I don’t know that much about them myself, but I’d love to learn more. What I do know of them makes them sound really interesting though!

  2. Nice picks! Dragons – yes! Never too many 😀 Also, stone age? Could be good! Aztecs! That would be really cool, is there anything like that already!? I’d so read that.
    And yay for being a Bartimaeus fan! High five!

    Happy reading!

  3. Hi! I saw your link on the Broke and the Bookish and clicked over. I definitely agree, more dragons and pirates would make the book world a better place. 🙂 I would love to read a book that featured Welsh mythology! I’m ethnically Welsh, but my family has lived in the US for generations now. Something featuring Welsh mythology, or anything to do with Welsh culture, would be fabulous! It’s something I would definitely read! 🙂

    1. Welsh mythology and culture is pretty awesome, so I really wish someone would write something based on it. There’s so much they could use!

  4. Dragons and Pirates and Assassins? You have the whole list here, i definitely need more of all these 3! Books with welsh and celtic mythology would also be very welcome, i have a book on celtic myths that is so interesting and could definitely make one heck of a story! Great ideas 🙂

Leave a Reply

