Review: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1)

Stephanie Perkins - Anna and the French Kiss

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. She is less than thrilled about boarding school in Paris – until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, he has it all – including a serious girlfriend. Will Anna get her French kiss?

How on earth do I review this book? This is yet another book that I really loved this year, and I’m having a lot of trouble figuring out how to tell you why I liked it. It was just so perfect and real and I could imagine every part of it happening. Well, I guess I could start with Paris, the main setting for this book. I couldn’t imagine any other setting for this book. Honestly, no where would work as well as Paris, and there’s no way Anna would’ve connected as much with another city. Paris is perfect for her. It’s so romantic and beautiful and it’s pretty much Anna personified in my mind. The descriptions of the city were so beautiful and it really made me want to visit the place again. This book made me fall in love with that city so much.

To be honest, this book made me fall in love with several characters as well. Namely, Anna Oliphant and Etienne St. Clair. These two are the most adorable characters I have ever read about. Firstly, Anna is awesome. Her narrative throughout the book is brilliant, and there were several moments in the book with her that reminded me of things my friends and I would say. Those moments were mainly comments about Etienne, but still. She’s so adorable. Also, she’s such a realistic character. She doesn’t want to break up any relationships or anything, but she also doesn’t want to just be a friend, and I love the conflict we get through the book about what she should do. Anna’s enthusiasm for films also made me like her even more, because she was so passionate and so dedicated to her goal. And the cinema trips were so cool. Especially that one with St. Clair, where their legs touched and she couldn’t concentrate on the film.

Which brings me on to Etienne St. Clair, the English boy who goes to school in France and is actually an American. Just a little bit confusing, right? St. Clair, as he’s known to his friends, is basically the perfect book boyfriend. He’s sweet, he’s romantic, he’s caring and he’s really friendly to everyone. He has his flaws and his weaknesses, but I totally fell in love with him. And there were so many moments in this book when I felt sorry for him. I just wanted to give him a hug, because at times he seems so helpless and sad and in need of a friend. And at other times he’s just perfect.

There were a lot of other things that I loved about this book – one of those things were the e-mails between various characters. I’ve always been a fan of chapters that are actually letters/e-mails/messages of some sort and this book did it so well. The e-mails between Anna and Bridge, her best friend back in Atlanta, were so much like what I might send to my friend, and the e-mails between Anna and St. Clair? Well, they just made me smile. A lot.

Actually, the whole book made me smile a lot. I was either grinning like an idiot as I read it or wanting to throw it across the room and never pick it up again. There was no in between feelings-wise. Overall, this book is the cutest thing I’ve read in a while and I would recommend it to all fans of contemporary fiction.

“Is it possible for home to be a person and not a place?”

2 thoughts on “Review: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1)

Leave a Reply

