Review: This Song Will Save Your Life

Leila Sales - This Song Will Save Your Life

Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing.

I was looking through my notes for this book and I realized that it’s basically a list of emotions and love for various characters. I haven’t written down anything that seems remotely useful in writing down a review. Then again, this isn’t an average book to be reviewed. It’s so much more than a typical YA book. It’s about being an outcast and unpopular, and having to find your own place in the world where you do belong. And that’s exactly what Elise does in this book. In her life, she’s always been an outsider and this book is all about how she changes her life after going to a warehouse party one night.

Personally, I totally understand how Elise feels. Although I’ve never been quite the outsider like she is (I have a nice group of friends but I wouldn’t say we’re popular), I do understand where she’s coming from. In the book, Elise mentions how she always used to play make believe when she was younger, and that was something I always used to do. I lived in a fantasy world during my childhood to be honest. Anyway, I understand why she does what she does during the book, and I feel for her so much.

Elise herself is a really strong character. Although she has thoughts of suicide in the first chapter of the book and does sort of act on them at the beginning, she changes her mind and carries on with her life. She’s a strong character who doesn’t want to see others get hurt, and she also cares a lot about her friends and family. She’s a very realistic character that acts like an actual teenager and I really loved her throughout the book.

The rest of the characters in the book are just as realistic and I fell in love with a lot of them. There are a couple that I have to mention though. Vicky is awesome. She’s so down-to-earth and lively and confident, but she also has a past and has gotten through her own problems to get to where she is in the book, and I really admire her. Harry is adorable and a little geek and I love him. And then there’s Char. Although I had a love-hate relationship with him during the book, I loved the fact that he is a very real character. This book gets that people can be really sweet and adorable for a bit, but can also be idiots and pretty horrible guys. I just liked the fact that he was portrayed so realistically.

Overall, this book was so perfect. It was exactly the thing I needed to read – a book with personal problems to overcome, but also has a lot of happiness and joy in it. I would recommend to it to anyone. It’s just perfect.

“Sometimes people think they know you. They know a few facts about you, and they piece you together in a way that makes sense to them. And if you don’t know yourself very well, you might even believe that they are right. But the truth is, that isn’t you. That isn’t you at all.”

2 thoughts on “Review: This Song Will Save Your Life

Leave a Reply

