Review: Tiger Lily

Jodi Lynn Anderson - Tiger Lily

Before Peter Pan belonged to Wendy, he belonged to the girl with the crow feather in her hair. . . .

Fifteen-year-old Tiger Lily doesn’t believe in love stories or happy endings. Then she meets the alluring teenage Peter Pan in the forbidden woods of Neverland and immediately falls under his spell.

Peter is unlike anyone she’s ever known. Impetuous and brave, he both scares and enthralls her. As the leader of the Lost Boys, the most fearsome of Neverland’s inhabitants, Peter is an unthinkable match for Tiger Lily. Soon, she is risking everything—her family, her future—to be with him. When she is faced with marriage to a terrible man in her own tribe, she must choose between the life she’s always known and running away to an uncertain future with Peter.

With enemies threatening to tear them apart, the lovers seem doomed. But it’s the arrival of Wendy Darling, an English girl who’s everything Tiger Lily is not, that leads Tiger Lily to discover that the most dangerous enemies can live inside even the most loyal and loving heart.

From the New York Times bestselling author of Peaches comes a magical and bewitching story of the romance between a fearless heroine and the boy who wouldn’t grow up.

How do I even review this book? It was such a beautiful read that I couldn’t get enough of. I was expecting to like – I love the Disney film and all the stories about Peter Pan – and a story about Tiger Lily intrigued me. What I didn’t know was that I was totally going to fall in love with this book. Fantasy elements aside, it’s style is very different to what I usually read, but I really loved it.

It does take a while to get used to reading this book because, although it’s the story of Tiger Lily, it’s told from the perspective of Tinkerbell. I did find it strange at first but then it felt a lot more natural as I read more of the book. Personally, I think the narration works really well in the book because it really does portray what you might expect Tinkerbell’s mind to be like. It’s quite simple and young, but at the same time Tink’s narration covers all sorts of hurt and painful moments in various characters’ lives. Tinkerbell’s narration also gives this a book a proper fairy tale sort of tone, which really brought me back to my childhood when I used to read a lot of fairy tales.

It’s rather odd learning about the main character from another character’s point of view, but it also works well, because Tinkerbell can sense emotions and sometimes see what people are thinking. Through this, we really get to see the kind of person Tiger Lily and how she develops after she meets Pan and later, Wendy. Talking of Tiger Lily, I really loved her. She’s ready to stand up for anyone in the book, whether or not she likes them, and she doesn’t want to go along with the traditions of her home. She’s ready to explore and have some fun and by doing that she gets to have new experiences, like meeting Peter Pan. Pan is a lot like how I remember him from various stories – cheeky, a little childish, and a lot of fun. What I liked about this take on Pan is seeing how he can’t always cope with everything that’s going on and that life as a lost boy isn’t always as much fun as it looks.

There were a lot of adorable scenes that I loved in this book, especially between Peter Pan and Tiger Lily, and I really enjoyed the way their relationship changed over time. Also, the world really came alive with the descriptions in this book and I liked the way the book explained how people from England managed to find Neverland. Overall, I loved every part of this book, and I wish that there was more to read of Tiger Lily’s story.

“Sometimes I think that maybe we are just stories. Like we may as well just be words on a page, because we’re only what we’ve done and what we are going to do.”

6 thoughts on “Review: Tiger Lily

Leave a Reply

