round up

2013 In Books

best-books-2013-1024x862

I came across this survey on The Perpetual Page Turner, and so I had to use it as this year’s round up. There’s no way I could miss out on a book survey, so here goes!

best-teen-books-2013-1024x255

Best Book You Read In 2013?

There’s no way that I could choose just one book, so I figured I would go with the genre options.

Contemporary – I think it probably has to be Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, although Eleanor & Park by the same author comes pretty close.

Dystopian/Post-ApocalypticAllegiant by Veronica Roth.

Historical Fiction – Although it’s technically a children’s book, I reread The Thieves of Ostia by Catherine Lawrence this year and fell in love with the series all over again.

Paranormal – If it counts as paranormal, it’s got to be Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.

Science Fiction The Fall of Five by Pittacus Lore.

Fantasy – There’s no way that I could only choose one fantasy book so here are a few of my favourites: Graceling by Kristin Cashore, Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder, Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas, Elantris by Brandon Sanderson and Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson.

Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More Than You Did?

It’s got to be Requiem by Lauren Oliver.

Most Surprising (in a good way!) Book of 2013?

It’s probably Spellwright by Blake Charlton, just because I’d never heard of it before I started reading it. It was awesome by the way. I’m so in love with the magic system.

Book You Read In 2013 That You Recommended To People Most In 2013?

A friend originally recommended The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin to me, and I ended up telling a lot of people to read it.

Best Series You Discovered In 2013?

It’s got to be the Graceling Realm series by Kristin Cashore. I read Graceling and Fire straight after each other, and couldn’t wait for Bitterblue to be released. They are such good books.

Favourite New Author You Discovered In 2013?

It’s between Rainbow Rowell, Brandon Sanderson and Laini Taylor. I’m in love with all their books, and seeing as they’re all pretty different, I can’t choose between them.

Best Book That Was Out Of Your Comfort Zone Or Was A New Genre For You?

I don’t usually read much contemporary fiction, although that’s starting to change, so I guess it’s either The Perks of Being a Wallflower or Fangirl.

Most Thrilling, Unputdownable Book In 2013?

This is hard. I read a lot of books that felt like this. However, I think it has to be the Study series by Maria V. Snyder as a whole. I read them in about a week in the summer and totally fell in love with the series just because so much keeps happening. And obviously because of Yelena and Valek.

Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Reread This Year?

Although I’ve just finished it, probably Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson. I fell in love so much with that book and it’s already worth the reread. I’ll probably read House of Hades by Rick Riordan too at some point before Blood of Olympus is released.

Favourite Cover Of A Book You Read In 2013?

Brandon Sanderson - ElantrisMost Memorable Character In 2013?

I have a lot of favourites, but I think it has to be both Zusana and Mik from Daughter of Smoke and Bone.

 Most Beautifully Written Book Read In 2013?

I’m between three different books for this, and I can’t decide on just one. Daughter of Smoke and Bone was so beautiful, as was Tiger Lily. However, Seraphina by Rachel Hartman was so beautiful to read and I think that one is probably my favourite writing-wise.

Book That Had The Greatest Impact On You In 2013?

It has to be The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Or possibly The Fault in Our Stars. I’m between those two – I’m pretty sure they both made me cry a lot and I couldn’t think about anything else after finishing them.

Books You Can’t Believe You Waited UNTIL 2013 To Finally Read?

This one’s hard. I’m trying to think what I didn’t get to round to reading for a while. I suppose The Host by Stephanie Meyer, which I hadn’t really wanted to read but then I was convinced by my friends and it was totally worth it.

Favourite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2013?

I would happily write out most of Daughter of Smoke and Bone (you may have realized by now that I totally love the book), but I think I’ll go with this quote.

Hope

Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?

Shortest: I didn’t count the short stories that I’ve read, so the shortest book is The Thieves of Ostia by Caroline Lawrence at 160 pages.

Longest: The longest that I read was A Feast For Crows by George R. R. Martin which was 1,060 pages.

Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Someone About It?

There are quite a few parts in Poison Study that made me feel like this, especially one scene towards the end with Yelena and Valek. Also, the end of The Fall of Five by Pittacus Lore – I actually couldn’t believe the ending at all.

Favourite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013?

In terms of romance, Mik and Zusana from Daughter of Smoke and Bone were so adorable. Also, Raoden and Sarene in Elantris, because I wanted them to get together way before they even met!

There were plenty of friendships I loved too, but the main one that comes to mind is Ari and Janco of Poison Study. They are amazing and adorable and have such an awesome relationship. Also, Nic and Eve in the Glass series by Maria V. Snyder. They were cool.

Favourite Book You Read In 2013 From An Author You’ve Read Previously?

Probably House of Hades by Rick Riordan, because I really loved that book. Especially the Tartarus scenes.

Best Book You Read In 2013 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Someone Else?

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. All I knew about the series when my friend told me to read the first book was that the second had recently been released. I’m so glad I read it because it was great!

Genre You Read The Most From In 2013?

Definitely fantasy.

Newest Fictional Crush From A Book You Read In 2013?

Levi from Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Also, Gansey from The Raven Boys. 

Best 2013 Debut You Read?

Having looked through 2013’s books, I haven’t actually read any debuts at all. A lot of the stuff have been series’ that started before 2013 or just books I hadn’t gotten around to reading.

Most Vivid World/Imagery In A Book You Read In 2013?

Elantris, because I fell in love with that world. I think Days of Blood and Starlight should get a mention too, just because it felt so real sometimes.

Book That Was The Most Fun To Read In 2o13?

I think I’ll go for The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith, because it was such a nice, easy read that I really enjoyed while I was on my way to Italy. Fangirl is in there as well though.

Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry In 2013?

There are several I think, so here’s a nice list for you: Clockwork Princess, Elegy,  The Time Traveller’s WifeThe Perks of Being a Wallflower, The Fault in Our Stars, Eleanor & Park, Allegiant and The Fall of Five.

Book You Read In 2013 That You Think Got Overlooked This Year Or When It Came Out?

Definitely the Watersong series by Amanda Hocking. I really enjoyed them, but I don’t know many people who have actually read the books, which is quite disappointing.

reading-life-2013-1024x255

New Favourite Book Blog You Discovered In 2013?

It has to be Reading With A Vengeance. I visit it a lot to see if there are any new chapter snarks, because they’re lot of fun to read.

Favourite Review That You Wrote In 2013?

Probably Elantris, because it’s one of my more recent reviews and seeing as I only started the blog recently, I think it’s one of my better reviews.

Best Discussion You Had On Your Blog?

As I said above, I only started this blog in the summer and I didn’t really do any discussions in 2013. Maybe it should be a resolution for this year!

Most Thought-Provoking Review Or Discussion You Read On Somebody Else’s Blog?

I can’t actually think of anything off the top of my head, although I feel like there was a post that I really enjoyed reading and did make me think a lot but I have no idea what it was.

Best Event That You Participated In?

I seriously didn’t do anything last year! There were a few things that I considered going to, like a book signing in London (which I couldn’t get to) and the Hay Book Festival, but I didn’t actually get to go to anything.

Best Moment Of Book Blogging/Your Book Life in 2013?

It has to be starting this blog. It started off as something to do over the summer and now it’s something that I do pretty often.

Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog?

That would be my review of The Fall of Five, which is definitely not what I was expecting to come up. The House of Hades review is pretty close behind though.

Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

I guess some of my other reviews, because there were some that I really enjoyed writing that weren’t noticed as much.

Best Bookish Discovery?

Feedly, because it’s so much easier to follow loads of blogs on there and it’s really useful. Also, this notebook that my friend got me. It’s so useful to keep track of the books that I want to get while I’m in Waterstones and don’t have easy access to Goodreads!

manual_9780811829861

Did You Complete Any Reading Challenges Or Goals That You Set For Yourself At The Beginning of 2013?

I finished my Goodreads reading challenge, which I set for 80 books, and I managed 104. I also managed to read four more Wheel of Time books, which I didn’t think I’d do this year, so I’ve only got another six to go I think.

2014-books-1024x255

One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2013 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority In 2014?

It has to be The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett. I keep planning on reading all of his books from the beginning and I already own the first one, I just keep putting off starting to read them.

Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2014 (non-debut)?

There are a few that I can’t wait to read. I need Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan as soon as possible because I need to know what happens, but I also really want to read The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin because she’s started releasing teasers and I need to know what happened to Noah!

2014 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

I’m not really sure to be honest. I’m not great at keeping track of new authors and I never really notice debuts until about a year after they come out, so I’m not sure what I’m excited about debut-wise.

Series Ending You Are Most Anticipating?

Again, Blood of Olympus and Mara Dyer, but I’m also looking forward to reading City of Heavenly Fire, just to see what happens.

One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging 2014?

Well, I want to try and post more often on this blog for one thing. Also, I want to read as many of the Wheel of Time books as I can this year, and maybe also reread The Fellowship of the Ring?

Leave a Reply

