Review: Storm Glass (Glass #1)

Maria V Snyder - Storm Glass

Untrained. Untested. Unleashed With her unique magical abilities, Opal Cowan has always felt unsure of her place at Sitia’s magic academy – but now it’s time to test her powers in the real world. 

Under threat from a deadly massacre, the powerful Stormdancer clan need Opal’s unusual skills to protect their people. And their plea is impossible to resist, especially when it comes from mysterious, mercurial Kade. Yet pulling her powers in unfamiliar directions pushes Opal to uncover a new kind of magic as stunningly potent as it is frightening, with danger and deception rising around her, will Opal’s untested abilities destroy her – or save them all?

This book is set in the same world as Maria V Snyder’s Study series, which I totally loved. Understandably, I was really excited to start this series. However, although I did enjoy the book, it certainly wasn’t as good as Poison Study and its sequels. I’m not quite sure what it was that didn’t do it for me, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as Yelena’s story. There was plenty I did like though, and it’s certainly a series I’ll be carrying on with.

The main character of the series, Opal Cowan, was actually first introduced in the Study series. Yelena met her in Booruby, and Opal does play a relatively important role in the conclusion of those books. We’re reminded a lot of that during Storm Glass. I’m not really sure if I liked that or not, but there was an awful lot of recapping in this book, and it’s true for the rest of the series. That’s one thing I certainly didn’t like because it just felt unnecessary sometimes. The writing itself also seemed quite young at times but, at others, it flowed really well I liked it.

Opal herself is a very interesting character. She’s got just as horrific a backstory as Yelena did in the Study series (and I apologise for these references if you haven’t read that series. You really should!) Anyway, Opal has been through a lot in her life and she’s now in her early twenties. There were a lot of aspects of her character that I loved, like the fact that she just got on with life even though she’d been through plenty of hardship and that she didn’t gloat over the good things she hadn’t done. Also, I liked the parts of the book where she did break down and felt totally horrible about herself because she always picked herself up afterwards.

This book also had plenty of plot twists, like the Ulrick storyline. That really surprised me, but I enjoyed it. I thought that the plot was always heading somewhere and that it never slowed down too much. The rest of the characters also made the book a lot of fun to read, such as the inclusion of people like Leif and Kade. Also Pazia, because I love her. She’s great.

One thing I really love about this series is the craft aspect because Opal is first and foremost a glassblower. Her comes after this, and I feel I now know a lot more about glass blowing and the techniques used. It was really interesting seeing the way the different characters had different skills to do with glass blowing. Similarly, I also love the fact that all the different areas and the clans have different skills depending on where they live. It’s just really interesting to read about. I really like the world building of this series.

Overall, it was a good book, but a little disappointing compared to the Study series. Also, I suggest reading the Study series before starting the Glass series to make sure you understand everything that’s going on. However, there’s plenty of recapping in the series so it’s probably not that important to read it first.

2 thoughts on “Review: Storm Glass (Glass #1)

Leave a Reply

