book review

Review: Legend & Prodigy (Legend #1 & #2)

Marie Lu - Legend

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills. 

So many of my friends have been on at me to read this book and, up until recently, I haven’t been too sure about reading it because I’ve read far too many dystopians. However, I caved, and I’m quite glad that I did. Although it hasn’t become one of my favourites, it was a nice read and I enjoyed it enough to read the second book straight after.

At times, the plot in this book is really intense and exciting. There’s always a lot going on because of the two PoV’s and so there’s always an interesting storyline. I liked the way the stories weaved together and also being able to see the world of the characters from different perspectives. This led to a gripping plot which made me excited about what might happen next in the book. On the other hand, it wasn’t one of those unputdownable books that come along sometimes, and the story never really blew me away. There were some things that were a little predictable, but others part of the book did surprise me. The way various things were revealed was done really well.

There were a lot of characters in this book, and I have to mention the two main ones. I loved Day – he was such a strong character who was ready to do the right thing when it was needed, and his relationship with Tess was so adorable. I enjoyed his chapters so much, and I hated it when he was all heartbroken about his brother. To start with, I wasn’t so keen on June but I slowly began to like her more by the end of the book. She did get on my nerves a lot at the start of the book, but I enjoyed her development as she began to realize what the world she lived in was really like. The rest of the characters were really interesting and all different to each other – the relationships that developed were great to read about, especially Day and Tess.

Overall, this book was good and I did enjoy reading it. I’d definitely recommend it to fans of dystopian books.

Marie Lu - Prodigy

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

This book didn’t impress me as much as the first one, although I did still enjoy it. It’s plot was good, but it wasn’t particularly memorable and I’m not really bothered about rereading the book in the future. The characters were all pretty similar to the previous book, although there was development, and it was nice meeting a couple of new people too. Another part I liked was seeing more of the world that existed and what Day and June thought about it. Overall though, this book was just okay and wasn’t as good a sequel as I hoped it would be.

Leave a Reply

