Review: UnEnchanted (An Unfortunate Fairy Tale #1)

Chanda Hahn - UnEnchanted

Mina Grime is unlucky, unpopular and uncoordinated, that is until she saves her crush’s life on a field trip, changing her High School status from loser to hero overnight. But with her newfound fame brings misfortune as an old family curse come to light. For Mina is descended from the Brothers Grimm and has inherited all of their unfinished fairy tale business. Which includes trying to outwit a powerful Story from making her its next fairytale victim.

To break the fairy tale curse on her family and stop these deadly events, Mina must finish the tales until the very Grimm end.

This was a free book that I got on my nook, and was a suprisingly good read. It certainly didn’t blow me away but I did enjoy the book more than I thought I would. The book tells the story of Mina, who is cursed to become a part of the fairy tales in the Grimoire. She has to complete all the tales to make sure that no one else in her family has to suffer.

I thought that the plot in this book was definitely interesting. I am a huge fan of fairy tale retellings so this was right up my street. This book had a lot of potential, and I loved the idea of the family curse that no one had managed to break. The Grimoire was also a great idea and I wish that there had been more going on fairy-tale-wise. I also thought that there were some very clever twists in the book, although I wasn’t a fan of the ending – it was really convenient and I’m sure it could’ve ended differently.

There were quite a few characters in this book and Mina, our main character, was pretty cool. She seemed like a decent, likeable character who cared about the people in her life, but also seemed like the average teenager. I really grew to like her throughout the book and I felt so sorry for her sometimes. Mina’s friends and family are also pretty cool, and I really like Brody’s character. It was nice seeing a guy who was popular but not a jerk – he was just friendly and wanted to get to know Mina well without losing his other friends.

I wasn’t a fan of the writing in this book. That definitely slowed down my reading pace, but I guess that the writing was a consequence of the fact that it was a free ebook and so I can’t complain too much. Also, and this is more in general than just this book, why are all characters with yellow eyes evil? I would love to see more books not use yellow eyes as a sign of someone’s villainous qualities and just let a character have unusual eyes for once.

Having said that, I did enjoy this book and, if you’re not looking for something too serious, I would certainly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

