book review

Review: Ruby Red (Ruby Red Trilogy #1)

Kerstin Gier - Ruby Red

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon–the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

I really disliked this book. I read it while I was on holiday and I struggled through it. Before I’d started it, I was already in love with the premise and I’d seen loads of good reviews, but I just found the book rather boring overall. Nothing about the plot gripped me and I wasn’t a fan of the characters either. One thing I do quite like though is the cover – it’s very pretty.

Firstly, this book sounded so promising. It had time travel, a girl who wasn’t prepared for that life and a whole lot of mysteries to solve about her family and their past. Sadly, the plot really didn’t give me what I wanted. It felt as if a lot of the book was setting up a story for the next book in the series and the plot itself didn’t start properly for a long time. There were lots of interesting things in the book – time travel, the ghost only Gwyneth could see, the science of the time travel – but none of it was done well enough to keep me reading.

Similarly, I couldn’t connect with the characters either. Gwyneth seemed a lot younger than she was meant to be and I didn’t think that she was of much interest. She didn’t do much in the book – things tended to happen to her and she’d let whatever it was carry on. I couldn’t connect with the rest of her family either, and some of those characters had back stories that sounded far more interesting than Gwyneth (like the whole Lucy and Paul plot line). The other time travelers were a little more fun to read about but there wasn’t really enough of them and their traveling in the book.

Talking of time travel, that part of the book was rather cool. I liked the idea that a gene responsible for the ability to time travel and I wish there had been even more about this. Also, the whole jewel thing was really clever. Overall, this book was very underwhelming and I will not being carrying on with the series.

1 thought on “Review: Ruby Red (Ruby Red Trilogy #1)”

Leave a Reply

