book review

Review: Days of Blood and Starlight (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #2)

Laini Taylor - Daughter of Blood and Starlight

Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and dared to imagine a world free of bloodshed and war.

This is not that world.

Art student and monster’s apprentice Karou finally has the answers she has always sought. She knows who she is—and what she is. But with this knowledge comes another truth she would give anything to undo: She loved the enemy and he betrayed her, and a world suffered for it.

In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Karou must decide how far she’ll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, secrets and impossible choices, Days of Blood & Starlight finds Karou and Akiva on opposing sides as an age-old war stirs back to life.

While Karou and her allies build a monstrous army in a land of dust and starlight, Akiva wages a different sort of battle: a battle for redemption. For hope.

But can any hope be salvaged from the ashes of their broken dream?

I’m not sure if this review will make any sense because this is one of those books that it is impossible to review because I loved it too much. It was an amazing read, and such a perfect sequel to Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I had very high expectations for this book and it didn’t disappoint at all.

Firstly, I loved the plot in this book. Karou’s parts of the story were so interesting and there was so much going on and, although I was a bit confused by everything at the beginning, it was easy to follow after a few chapters. Akiva’s chapters were awesome too because, as a fan of Akiva, I loved seeing how and his friends felt about what was going on. Although I loved these chapters, my favourite parts were easily Zusana and Mik. They are perfect and I cannot get over their adorable-ness. Zusana’s chapters were so lovely and her love for Karou is amazing!

Of course, the other things that makes this book so awesome is Laini Taylor’s writing and it is just as stunning as it was in the first book. I read so many descriptions twice or three times just because her writing is so beautiful. I loved reading her decriptions of souls and how they all felt different and this book is far too beautiful to review.

Anyway, another great part of the book were the character who were all as awesome as ever. I’m still totally in love with Karou because she’s so ready to stand up for herself and do her own thing, and she knows that she doesn’t need Akiva to do it. However, I adore Karou and Akiva together so their scenes were perfect as well. Akiva himself carried on being a rather cool character and, during this book, I found myself also falling in love with Hazael. He gave the book some much-needed light relief and everything he said was perfect. Also, his character was pretty cool.

I cannot talk about this book without mentioning Zusana and Mik again, so here goes. They are of the best couples I have ever read about and they’re not even the main characters in this book. Seriously, they’re adorable and I loved seeing them together. What I really like though is the fact that both of them do have a personality and goals and are three-dimensional. Zusana clearly cares about Karou so much and their friendship is actually amazing. I’ve never seen such a strong friendship in a book. And Mik – he loves Zusana so much and he’s willing to follow her anywhere, but he also does try and get her to understand why he doesn’t totally agree with what she’s doing and I really love their relationship.

So, everyone should read this book. It has angels and monsters and deserts and amazing romances,  and it is a truly beautiful book.

Leave a Reply

