Review: The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2)

Maggie Stiefvater - The Dream Thieves

Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. 

Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. 

Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

I finished this book a while ago and I’ve found it hard to write a review because I really enjoyed this book. Seriously, I loved it. I was all I wanted as a sequel and more. It gave me plenty of character development, Blue and Gansey moments and more love for Glyndwr. It was a great read. Also, that cover is so pretty. And it’s all mysterious and cool.

Firstly, the plot was great. It held my interest the whole way and I found it really hard to stop reading it at times. Although the plot was a little confusing sometimes, I could figure it out once I knew a bit more about what was going on. There was lots of development along with some really awesome scenes – if you’ve read the book, you’ll know exactly what I mean by the scene with the dragon. It was amazing! I also enjoyed the cleverer aspects of the book, such as each character’s individual gift. The whole taking things out of dreams idea was really cool.

I’m in love with all the characters in this book and I loved seeing how they changed as this book progressed, especially Adam. Blue was a lot of fun and her relationships with the other MC’s developed a lot, especially with Gansey. Their scenes together were perfect, especially one in particular that, yet again, you’ll know about if you’ve read the book. I really started to fall in love with Ronan in this book too because he was awesome. There are so many sides to his character, and his arc was possibly one of my favourite parts of the book.

As always, there are lots of extra things that I liked, such as the continuing quest for Glyndwr. I was fangirling every time they mentioned him because I still can’t get over a Welsh hero/legend/guy being a big part of an American book series.

One problem that I had with the book was that things would sometimes get mentioned but they wouldn’t get followed up. For example, while Adam is at Gansey’s house, he sees a screaming woman in the mirror and the book makes a point of saying that he’s the only one who sees her. This is never mentioned again, which does confuse me a little. Something like that, to me, feels kind of important.

Overall, I really loved this book and I cannot wait for the next book to be released.

Leave a Reply

