Top Ten Tuesday – Unusual Character Names

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Unusual Character Names I’ve Encountered in Books

It took me so long to think of enough names for this list. I was pretty much just staring at my bookshelf hoping that they’d start jumping out at me. Eventually, they did!

1. Blue Sargent from The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I really like her name but when I first heard about the book, I thought it was really weird that her name was Blue. But I now love it.

2. Blart from Blart by Dominic Barker

This is just a ridiculous name. But it works really well in the book because it definitely shows Blart’s character somehow.

3. Anything from The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan

Seriously, the amount of unpronounceable names in this series is ridiculous. For example, Egwene al’Vere, Nynaeve al’Meara and Aviendha.

4. Most of the names from Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

These names aren’t odd or strange, but they’re definitely unusual. Karou, Akiva and Zusana aren’t exactly everyday names, but I love the characters.

5. Taoshira from Dragonfly by Julia Golding

I actually really like her name, and it totally suits her character and the fantasy land that she comes from.

6. Drothe from Among Thieves by Douglas Hulick

It was a while ago that I read this so I can’t remember if there was a surname or anything to go with that, but this name so suited the book.

7. Yelena Zaltana from Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

I love her name. It’s so pretty!

8. Celeana Sardothien from Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Her name is really similar to Yelena’s and I mix them up a lot, but it’s a great name.

9. Bitterblue from Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore

Yet another unusual name from a fantasy book which I totally love.

10. Xenophilius Lovegood from the Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling

I couldn’t have this list without a Harry Potter name, and this is clearly one of the most bizarre in the series!

What are the most unusual names that you’ve seen?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Unusual Character Names

Leave a Reply

