Top Ten Tuesday – Best/Worst Series Enders

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

 Top Ten Best/Worst Series Enders

I was going to go for half best series enders and half worst, until I realized that I couldn’t think of enough bad endings. So, I’ve gone for some good endings, some bad endings and some ending that I liked but hated part of them (if that makes sense).

Requiem

1. Requiem (Delirium #3) by Lauren Oliver

The end of the Delirium series really disappointed me. I’d been looking forward to a great conclusion to all that was going on, and then I got that awful ending. Plus I really didn’t enjoy reading this book much.

Ally Condie - Reached

2. Reached (Matched #3) by Ally Condie

This was yet another dystopian that didn’t quite do it for me. Although I did quite enjoy the book, I wasn’t at all happy with how the love triangle turned out, and that kind of ruined it for me. What I will say though, is that it was far better than the second book.

Robert Muchamore - Scorched Earth

3. Scorched Earth (Henderson Boys #7) by Robert Muchamore

I actually enjoyed this book, but there were parts that really made me dislike how this series ended. Namely, a certain character death.

Garcia and Stohl - Beautiful Redemption

4. Beautiful Redemption (Beautiful Creatures #4) by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

This is another mixed feelings book for me. Although I loved the book and the story and I did like the ending, there was that one character death that I absolutely hated. But I do understand that it was necessary, so this is more of a really good ending than a bad one.

Ally Carter - United We Spy

5. United We Spy (Gallagher Girls #6) by Ally Carter

I loved the ending of this series! It worked so well, and it was nice seeing so many of the characters finally being happy. Also, the ending scenes of this book were so nice.

Elegy

6. Elegy (Watersong #4) by Amanda Hocking

This was another ending that definitely worked. The epilogue was so perfect, and the way various other events played out was perfect.

Fire Study

7. Fire Study (Study #3) by Maria V. Snyder

This was another really nice ending. It was happy and the characters ended up being happy and I just really liked it.

Rick Riordan - Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian

8. Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #5) by Rick Riordan

How could anyone not love this ending? Percy and Annabeth finally got together, everyone was really happy… This was the perfect ending for this series.

Cassandra Clare - Clockwork Princess

9. Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3) by Cassandra Clare

I’m not sure that I can imagine this series ending in any other way. It suited every reader, and it made me cry a lot. It may have been a little too perfect, but I can cope with that.

J K Rowling - Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

10. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter #7) by J. K. Rowling

How could this book not be on my list? It was such a wonderful ending, and even the deaths in the Battle of Hogwarts had a meaning. There was no other way this series could have ended, and I really loved it.

Do you agree or disagree with any of these? What are your best and worst series endings?

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Best/Worst Series Enders

  1. I so passionately hate the Requiem ending, and I think it ruined the series. It was a great concept, and I understand what she was trying to do theoretically but still I feel betrayed as an reader. Also Deathly Hallows is absolutely amazing ❤

    Aly @ My Heart Hearts BooksMy TTT

Leave a Reply

